"Hidden" ##program Menu on Droid Pro

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by StingRay, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my Droid(1) I was able to enter "##program" in the dialer which opened a "hidden" menu....as many are aware you could enter this menu and go into option #4 Vocoder and change to ERVC-B in order to help your call sound quality...

    I tried this on my Droid Pro, which pulled up such a menu, but there is no "Vocoder" option in the menu....

    Has anyone explored this further to determine if a similar option is available to upgrade sound quality either in this menu or another that may be accessed?
     
  2. google123
    Offline

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That option is there but its under the last listing on the menu, testing settings or something like I don't remember. I don't know if it saves the changes or not though since its the testing menu.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  3. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool...thanks!

    I went through most but didn't see that one...will give it a shot...


    Update: Still not seeing anything that gives me a way to update to ERVC-B like on the Droid...
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2010
  4. google123
    Offline

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ##Program, option 06 Test Mode press Next twice and on third screen listed at top is Service Option. See below.

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  5. bb_or_droid
    Offline

    bb_or_droid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Major East Coast City
    Ratings:
    +1
    Please do check back with an update on whether you notice any call quality change.

    Also, I've seen on other boards that other Android devices have multiple hidden menus that allow users to make a variety of changes. Has anyone figured out those other codes for the DP?
     
  6. RevivaL
    Offline

    RevivaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet find. I would def like to know if there's any other hidden menus on the phone.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  7. spydergirl
    Offline

    spydergirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Dumb question from a Droid newbie....... What IS all that? What do those menu options mean and what kind of changes do they make? I'm always looking for ways to improve the operating function of my phone and also ways to UTILIZE every possible option available. Thanks for helping me to learn. :)
     
  8. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    spydergirl

    The "hidden menu" was used on the original Droid by people to try to help improve their call quality....going into that menu and changing to a "EVRC-B" VoCode supposedly gives you a better call quality..

    My call quality hasn't really been a problem, but I started thinking that if the Droid Pro had a similar "hidden menu" like the Droid, maybe it could be a way for some to improve the call quality on their phone...

    one thing you need to be aware of is that some of the other menu items you really want to watch messing with....can mess up your phone if you aren't careful and you don't remember the original settings....

    if you want to try you enter "##program" in your phone dialer...then use a password of "000000" then go to the menu that google123 mentions and change the setting to "EVRC-B"...
     
  9. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks 123! I need to dig a little deeper next time....dancedroid
     
  10. mustahaque
    Offline

    mustahaque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 000000 SPC Password is not working for me any idea why?
    Rooted Droid Pro

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  11. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you're using 6 "zeros" (0)...then hit confirm....

    Problem I see is that when I go in and change the setting to EVRC-B, it changes back to the default setting (EVRC) if I turn off the phone....

    didn't work like that on the Droid (1), so not sure if I'm doing something wrong....anyone else seeing this happen?
     
  12. mustahaque
    Offline

    mustahaque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup I am using 6 zeros and it still says "Invalid passcode. Please try again."
    I wonder if the SPC Pasword got changed from rooting the phone?

    I wish I could help you out... but the passcode is not even working!

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  13. google123
    Offline

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure that u press ALT before each time u press the "0" key because I noticed one time I just pressed ALT twice as if to enter six "0" digits and it only entered the zero once and the rest were the letter P. :)

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  14. minelson
    Offline

    minelson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you save the change

    How do you save the change you make to the Service Option? I have used the back key until it resets the phone and I do not see a "save" option.
     
  15. StingRay
    Offline

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think there is a "save"...exiting or backing out usually saves, but I wasn't ever able to get my changes to the VOC to stick....not sure if I need to be rooted or what...
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 hidden menu
,
droid bionic hidden menu
,

droid pro hidden menu

,
droid pro service menu
,
hidden dialer menu lg optimuss
,
hidden menus on droid pro
,
menu secreto motorola pro
,
motorola droid pro secret codes
,
motorola droid programming codes
,
spc password droid