Google Assistant with Car BT issues

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by radon222, Oct 19, 2018.

  1. radon222

    radon222 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +739
    I have a 5 yr old Toyota Tundra with a non-touch screen headunit. Lately and maybe since PIE was released I can no longer hear the Google Assistant voice over through the BT to the vehicle. (note: BT Aux source is selected)

    Phone calls work. I can stream audio with no problems (Pandora, Spotify, Youtube, etc).
    Navigation directions only work if I'm actively streaming music. If I <pause> the tunes, I stop getting voice directions.

    Google Assistant will launch by "Ok, Google", it appears to "hear" my commands and looks like its responding, but at no time do I get any sound.

    All of this used to work great. The grandkids loved playing G. Assistant games on the way to school. Just not anymore.

    Anyone else having similar problems??
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,877
    Likes Received:
    10,532
    Trophy Points:
    2,063
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +11,078
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z2 Force
    I have my Assistant set to always play the "I heard you tone" (I forget the actual name within the app) and here lately I can barely hear that tone via Bluetooth and can also barely hear her via Bluetooth. Whatever volume option Google is using, it seems very low with the current setup. I'm not sure if Assistant uses Ringtone volume, Bluetooth volume? But it's not Media volume, because if I'm playing music and Assistant cuts in for voice commands, when the music resumes it's at the same Media volume as before.

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  3. radon222

    radon222 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +739
    I've tried using the G. Asst. command "Maximize" which is supposed to max out the volume but it doesn't help with the BT issue either.
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,877
    Likes Received:
    10,532
    Trophy Points:
    2,063
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +11,078
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z2 Force
    I didn't know that. I'll have to give it a try the next tine I am driving and do something hands free.

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
  5. radon222

    radon222 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +739
    slight correction. The actual command is "Maximum Volume"
     
  6. LoudRam

    LoudRam Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    293
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +308
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G7
    Twitter:
    @Loudram
    Try going into the developer options and turn on "Disable absolute volume". It helped me when I couldn't hear Pandora in my Jeep via Bluetooth. My stereo volume control didn't change the volume on Pandora until I turned this on.
     
Search tags for this page

spotify