1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Exchange Email Set Up and Droid 3

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by rugby1, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. rugby1
    Offline

    rugby1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi-
    I am attempting to set up my wife's work email from instructions I have and I am not given a choice of 'exchange' just POP and IMAP in 'email' icon.

    I believe older droids could set up from this icon on an exchange server....Can't find it anywhere in this phone. Wifey is telling me her work friend set up her I-phone in 5 minutes....grrrr....this is like getting lost in the car...I've told her this is better than the I-phone....little egg on face. Although that GOOG news today...maybe I am right.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. mattbooty
    Offline

    mattbooty New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to go into settings (home screen, settings hard button, settings icon) -> accounts -> add account -> corporate sync.

    For some reason newer android devices renamed the industry standard terms "Exchange" and "active sync" to "corporate sync" and confused the heck out of everyone.
  3. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those are MicroSoft terms--especially Exchange--they are probably copyrighted.
  4. mattbooty
    Offline

    mattbooty New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes but I'm not sure why MS would have a problem with companies advertising that they support MS's products... I'm sure the name "Yahoo" is copyrighted also, as is youtube, twitter, last.fm, etc, but they are all available under the setup accounts... although hotmail isn't listed so maybe this is just a big "screw you" to MS over the patent issues...

    Either way, Corporate sync is what you are looking for OP.
  5. rugby1
    Offline

    rugby1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. I still was not able to hook up the account with the Droid 3's stock corp sync. Ended up setting up with touchdown and that worked.

    Was taking too much time and thought I read others were having trouble hooking up exchange email on the Droid 3 stock email. app.
  6. questingmcq
    Offline

    questingmcq New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try leaving domain empty.
    Also make sure you are using the correct format for username. It could be username@domain.com ( same as your email address) or username or domain\username. ( This makes a difference.)
    It may come back and ask for the Server. If you are living in the US and it is a Microsoft exchange server then you need to use red001.mail.microsoftonline.com. This should do the trick. Then wait it may take a while. I went to sleep and when I got up it was working.
    I had a 20min lag with my Blackberry from the time an email hit my inbox to the time the phone got it. The Droid sometimes beats my inbox.
  7. bdub33
    Offline

    bdub33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try using the word mail. Thats what I had to do when entering the server name. Mail.emailaddress. com or net

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. tgarza
    Offline

    tgarza New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a tough time getting set up too. I went from a Blackberry to a Bionic. Turns out, IT needed to turn on my permission to use "active sync" on my user profile. After they did that, it connected fine. Blackberry uses a different method with MS Exchange, I suppose.
  9. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Try adding add a new "Corporate Sync" account using the setting that are used in Touchdown. That is the approach I took with my OG Droid and it worked well.

    Personally, I prefer the integration of Touchdown with MS Exchange over that of the stock apps.

    Bob
Search tags for this page
droid 3 email set up
,

droid 3 exchange

,

droid 3 exchange email setup

,

droid bionic exchange email setup

,
exchange mail on droid 3
,

exchange on droid

,
motorola droid 3 email settings
,

motorola droid 3 exchange setup

,
set up email on droid 3
,
set up exchange email on droid 3
,
setting up exchange email on droid 3
,
setup exchange email verizon droid
,

setup exchange on droid 3

,
setup microsoft exchange on droid 3
,

verizon droid 3 exchange setup