Clear layers in Google Maps?

PhoenixGTR

Reaction score
Is there a way to delete unwanted layers in Google Maps? Clear map doesn't do it,nor does clear cache (which is greyed out anyway)and there is no clear data option in the update.
Or a reset layers option?

KZIWarrior

Silver Member
Reaction score
Is there a way to delete unwanted layers in Google Maps? Clear map doesn't do it,nor does clear cache (which is greyed out anyway)and there is no clear data option in the update.
Or a reset layers option?

open the menu, select the layers sub-menu, and then select the one(s) you don't want (thus clearing the check)...

Last edited:
OP
PhoenixGTR

PhoenixGTR

Reaction score
This may be obvious to you but I'm just a lowly newb and I've only found the "show more layers " option so far; didn't see any checks. Will look again. Is it one of those press-and-hold things?

ShowTime

Reaction score
In maps, hit menu, then layers. It will give you a list of layers (traffic, satellite, etc) and any you currently have applied will have a green checkmark next to them. Click them again and it will get rid of the checkmark and turn them off on your map view.

KZIWarrior

Silver Member
Reaction score
odd, 'Clear Map' doesn't remove your layers? It does on mine (but it didn't use to if memory serves). You may want to check your version. Any 'active' layers should have a green check beside it, selecting the layer again will clear the check. But 'clear maps' should work, less it's something ROM specific but it shouldn't be.

OP
PhoenixGTR

PhoenixGTR

Reaction score
OK, got that part, but how do you clear the old layers from the list?

Scribble

Reaction score
You can't.

Well, apparently if you uninstall all the new upgrades and then reinstall it will clear the list, but unfortunately there is no way to just clear the list with a button or something.

Apparently google is aware of the issue and is working on it...

droible

Reaction score