Cell Repeater for DroidX

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by volsportsfan, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. volsportsfan
    Offline

    volsportsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gatlinburg, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking to improve the dbm signal where I live. Already updated my prl's. Just wondering if anyone has cell phone repeater they can recommend for my DroidX. Don't want to spend over $200, just trying to gain 10 or 15 dbm. At my house I get anywhere from 80 to 87, would like to get this down to 70 to 75 dbm.
     
  2. billay12
    Offline

    billay12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try the Network Extender from Verizon. It works pretty well in my house. I got 105dBm at all times on all phones in my house before the Network Extender; now I'm getting 70-85dBm at all times. (6500sq.ft house). All you gotta do is hook it up to a high speed connection, and be able to put it near a window (GPS location for E911 services). It's that easy!

    It's $199 before $100 mail in rebate. Just google it.
     
  3. RnD_Solo
    Offline

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah we got one of those...they work like champ. and even with both people on the phone, i havent noticed any bandwidth issues
     
  4. billay12
    Offline

    billay12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    We've got 5 people on it texting, talking on phone, and we never have a problem. They work great.
     
  5. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    You all do understand that this device only boosts cell coverage for voice. It does nothing to help 3g or EVDO network coverage.
     
  6. billay12
    Offline

    billay12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes, I know that. I always have great 3G service. Usually 3-4 bars, but 1x I only got like 1 bar, sometimes none. Not even enough to make a phone call.
     
  7. volsportsfan
    Offline

    volsportsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gatlinburg, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies guys. Yeah I definetly want a repeater or amplifier that will boost 3g and EVDO coverage. Any products in mind that would work with the X?
     
  8. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    WIFI works really good for data at home!
     
  9. volsportsfan
    Offline

    volsportsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gatlinburg, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't bounce off anybody. Live in the Great Smoky Mountains!
     
  10. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try a search for Wilson Electronics.
     
  11. ctfd114
    Offline

    ctfd114 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ISnt there any software out here to basically do the same thing with a wireless router at home? a couple years ago, i heard of tmobile being able to seamlessly transition over from regular service to your wifi network at home if you didnt have enough signal... is there any software for our droids for something like that?
     
  12. wiz561
    Offline

    wiz561 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering if there's an update to this. Has anybody discovered any software that can do this?

    Thanks!
     
  13. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    This thread may interest you:

    Making Calls Over WiFi? - Android Forums

    Especially the last two posts.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 4 home repeater

,

droid repeater g3