better home app

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by deke, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. deke

    deke New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    810 north of the D
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone give this a shot? Can't find a review
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    6,969
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,304
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Really? Search the market for home replacement...or probably even this forum...There are a handful of home replacement apps to choose from.
     
  3. deke

    deke New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    810 north of the D
    Ratings:
    +0
    no the app is called better home

    The app is called better home. must be new only three reviews sound perfect it got 5 screens and you can use other themes
     
  4. Audiophobe

    Audiophobe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    He's right.
    I know there is an "Open" home. "Better" home is prob newer. Then there's Panda Home.
    I tried Panda and Open uninstalled them. All I wanted was 5 or 6 home screens instead of the 3. For some reason it seemed too complicated and they tried to offer more features than I was interested in. I must admit that I didn't put too much effort into it. If there was a "lite" version of this one I would try it.
     
  5. casesteam

    casesteam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying now - have it installed, seems very fast. too bad better cut doesn't work with this yet. the dev descriptions says support OpenHome themes but apt format. i downloaded a free openhome theme to see if it would work but it won't open - just says i need to install OpenHome. What does the dev mean when he says "but apt format"?

    Thanks
     
  6. jasonb

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    what's it look like? how is it?
     
  7. casesteam

    casesteam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    it looks just like the stock home with 5 screens. I have been running Home++ but this seems much faster to switch screens. it works with abcOrganizer labels. The app drawer is organized a bit different, system apps are listed first in ABC order and in white, any installed apps are listed in ABC order and in light blue. everything else about it seems to work the same - at least in the first 20 or so minutes i've been messing with it. I just haven't been able to figure out the themes thing with the "apt format" the dev mentions. so far, so good...
     
  8. Audiophobe

    Audiophobe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess they don't have a free lite version. It seems worth it if its
    simple and works well. I'd like to hear more feedback.
     
  9. casesteam

    casesteam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running it almost 24 hours now. I will be keeping it - 5 screens and fast is exactly what i have been looking for. I liked the tool bar on Home++ but i can live without it. I finally got all the icons changed to what i was using before (abcOrganizer did the trick).
    I see he has an update to fix the themes...i'll have to check this out.
     
  10. casesteam

    casesteam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    The update fixed the themes issue - everything was working fine till this morning, i tried a couple themes that worked well, and noticed there was yet another update available this morning. Like a moron, i allowed the update without doing a back-up of the one that was working...the latest trashed out out. It went into a FC loop that the only way i could stop was to do a battery pull. :mad:
    I can go back to the original that the themes didn't work on - that version still works fine. At this point, i uninstalled it until he can get another fix out there. I'll probably give it another try, but i'm back to Home++ for now.
     
  11. casesteam

    casesteam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK...I decided to give it another try since the dev said he fixed the FC issues. I've been running it 3 days now with no FC and no problems. 5 screens, able to use OpenHome themes and everything is working fast again. Beautiful Widget, Audiomanager, MiniInfo and MotoTorch all work with it without issues so far.
     
Search tags for this page
android app for better homes and gardens
,

better homes and gardens app for android