backup assistant?

Discussion in 'Gummyjar Droid2' started by papp_e, Jan 8, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. papp_e
    Offline

    papp_e Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    Just loaded up this rom and i love it. I cant figure out how to find backup assistant so i can load my contacts from it though. Is there a script to install it? Also, what are all the scripts that we can use with this rom? I didnt see them listed in the rom post where you DL the rom from.

    Thanks for the help guys
  2. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    How is everyone else getting their contacts back in without it? I installed this ROM on my wifes DX, had to export her contacts to gmail then to the phone (not very fun either). Would like to hook up my D2 but don't want to go through all that again.

    BUMP, for any help with backup assistant.
  3. papp_e
    Offline

    papp_e Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone have the .apk for backup assistant?
  4. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have it, installed it, but it won't show up.

    From a D2.
  5. papp_e
    Offline

    papp_e Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh crap. Can you post it just for the hell of it?
  6. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pulled it from my D2, have it on the laptop @ home. Maybe the app differs between phones.....who knows?

    From a D2.
  7. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, I don't know how to get backup assistant back, but I can tell you that like 99% of users hate it, and are excited to get rid of it. Google backs up all your contacts (if you have the option turned on). This is more reliable than Backup Assistant, and doesn't require a constantly running service like BA.
  8. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the input. Its just the easy way to get them back....lol. don't know how Google works but I only see contacts that I have made since I got my D2 and not "all" of them. Don't look forward to moving 250+ contacts over manually.

    From a D2.
  9. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, if you google around, for BackupAssistant.apk, I'm sure one of the forums will have a download link for it. I know it's one of the programs necessary to get an OTA update, and someone put together a download with all of that stock crap. Check around at androidforums.com and xda developers, I remember there's a big list on one of those sites. After that, make sure you set your google account to sync contacts, then anything you put in your phone will be backed up to Google's servers for next time.
  10. hijinks
    Offline

    hijinks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google to backup contacts

    If you have your contacts on the backup assistant go to the verizonwireless website and login. Click on Select All, actions, export contacts. Save the file(CVS).
    Log into gmail, click on contacts, more actions, import.
    This should push the contacts to your phone and they can be edited from your google contacts.
    If this doesn't work go to settings, accounts & sync, click on the gmail account, make sure sync contacts is checked.
  11. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is how I have been getting them over on the wife's DX and my D2. The contacts will show up in the phone and Gmail but the info (I.e..........phone numbers, emails, and so forth) show up as a note. You still have to type them in manually.

    Sent from my DROID2
  12. hijinks
    Offline

    hijinks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this: if you have the contacts on one of the phones the way you want them. log into gmail, export the contacts to a file, login to the gmail account associated with the second phone and import that file. See if that works. This is assuming you and your wife share many of the same contacts.
    Try this too: Go into your gmail add a contact and see if it appears on your phone. If it is added correctly you can add the contacts in gmail and they will be pushed to the phone. This will still take a long time but will be quicker than typing them in on the phone.
  13. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SinCity
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I said I was typiing them in manually, I meant in Gmail......no way I would do it on the phone! Haha, but all the work is done now so I really have no need for Backup Assistant. Just hope this thread helps out anyone else out there that was dependent of it for all their contacts.

    Thanks again for the help.

    Sent from my DROID2
  14. thebird36
    Offline

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah i had the same prob i hate that it is a note so dumb lol i actually liked backup assistant it was easy lol
  15. breeett
    Offline

    breeett Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Backup Assistant will not work with this ROM, even if you pull the APK from a stock Droid. It relies on Blur packages that are no longer included with this ROM, as it is supposed to be Blurless. The easiest thing for you guys to do is export a .csv file from the Verizon website with all your contacts in it, and import it into your google contacts.
Search tags for this page

backup assistant jar

,

backup assistant not loaded

,

how to install vzw backup assistant on rooted phone

,

on my droid it says quota exceeded