Back to stock and think I like it

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by MrKleen, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've been away from stock for awhile trying different roms, which I love to do. But now I am back to stock and have to admit I like it just fine. Of course I use LauncherPro, but other than that there are not many changes that need made. I also freeze all the bloatware with Titanium...

    Back on my Droid 1 roms were needed to have a decent phone, but D2 stock is not bad.

    For now... will not be long and I will be on some other new rom... :)
     
  2. karnovaran
    Offline

    karnovaran Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here. I appreciate squidly and the others, but the custom ROMs seem to bring more bugs than they're worth. With Froyo and the amazing apps like ADW that have been developed in the last year, you can get a pretty awesome experience on stock. Root, overclocking, themes, and nandroid backups are enough for me.
     
  3. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found that putting some of the stock 2.1 apps on my phone in place of the 2.2 has helped on ram too....they run as they should with no problems....keyboard, gallery, and removing parts I dont't use like messaging, talk, and some other stuff....

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. Quie2Droid
    Offline

    Quie2Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been thinking about doing this also. Where are some themes for the stock 2.3.2 with the black status bar?
     
  5. karnovaran
    Offline

    karnovaran Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Quie2Droid
    Offline

    Quie2Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I loaded the full sbf file, so I guess I would have to load the deodexed version over the top before I would use this, correct?
     
  7. karnovaran
    Offline

    karnovaran Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That should work.. flash the deodexed update.zip and then delete the leftover odex files via adb:

    adb shell
    su
    stop
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    rm /system/app/*.odex
    rm /system/framework/*.odex
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    reboot

    If you have Root Explorer, you could also do this by multi-selecting each odex file and deleting.
     
  8. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any one want to post a list of apps they froze?