anyone know how to sync facebook contacts with cellphone contacts of the same name?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by jimikeys, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. jimikeys
    Offline

    jimikeys New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I saw the option earlier but i didn't click it now i'm looking and can't find it...anyone have any ideas?
  2. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    You have to go to settings-accounts-and then click on your fb account abd choose sync with existing contacts or sync all. One thing you might have to do is change the names currently in your contacts to match what your friends have on fb, or it will create another contact.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure if you are referring to the same thing, but I have two people with the same name on fb (family) and only one of them in my contacts. No matter what I did (added phone and email) I couldn't get the correct profile picture to display for the contact in my phone.

    Needless to say, but I no longer use the fb app. Friendcaster is much better, but doesn't sync with contacts.

    Sent from OG Droid sporting SS5.4 w/HoneyGingerComb and Chevy's lv1.0ghz kernal
  4. jimikeys
    Offline

    jimikeys New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks i was able to finally use the motoblur version of fb but it sucked and it wouldn't let me sync fb user to contact list soooo i deleted it and went back to the original fb application and that won't let me do it either...i coulda sworn there was integration but there isn't... very weird stuff...but whatever...

    motorola made something that was simple complicated...very unusual...

    i'll keep playing with it.

    Thank you both for the help.
  5. jmdale1984
    Offline

    jmdale1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On my D2G, you can download and install the official FB app, but (even though it would let you select the option in the app, but not in account settings) Motoblur has somehow locked the app out from being able to sync with my contacts.

    Guess they want you to use the junk Motoblur FB app. I tried it for a week, and I just stopped using FB on my phone without even realizing it... lol.

    Once I got the phone rooted and ROMed, the official app would sync fine.

    The reason I mention all this, is that we'll probably have to wait for that on the D3 as well.
  6. wkearney99
    Offline

    wkearney99 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD USA
    It's been my experience the contact syncing just plain sucks. You end up with all kinds of duplicates. I've deliberately avoided using the built-in FB features because of this. Just use the FB app from the Market.
  7. jimikeys
    Offline

    jimikeys New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i read google blocked fb apps from syncing with android...
  8. b00mb00mchuck
    Offline

    b00mb00mchuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wasn't it.... Facebook blocked Google+ from syncing friends and thereby giving up their whole database of users to another social network...
  9. xrp861
    Offline

    xrp861 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ^ that's exactly what happened. Fb is butt hurt about Google+. Its shocking fb hasn't been blocked the same way thru google.
  10. Maverick0984
    Offline

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is absolultely possible on the Motorola Droid 3, or any Motorola Droid phone with Gingerbread at least, haven't confirmed these options exist on a phone with Froyo.

    You have to add your facebook account with the default facebook included with your Droid 3. It should start adding all of your facebook contacts into your list. Obviously this isn't desireable.

    Here's the catch, go into your contact list, hit menu, go to display options. Here you see all the different contact lists that are being displayed in your "master" list. Uncheck "All Contacts" under Facebook, and you are all set.

    This absolutely works, and if you can't get it to work, you might be using the wrong facebook app when you go to add the facebook account, if you have installed the market facebook app.

    I have also been able to accomplish this on my sister's Droid X which we thought you couldn't sync facebook contacts on either.

    It's a bit tucked away, is different than on the OG Droid, but it works, post here if you have any issues.
  11. wkearney99
    Offline

    wkearney99 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD USA
    Their database? Uh no, it's YOUR data. They're just abusing it for advertising purposes. Make no mistake about whose data it is though. It comes as no surprise to see FB acting like jerks, just look at their CEO.
  12. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Honestly you don't want to sync fb and your contacts. I use my phone both for business ,family, and friends. So I have detailed and correct records. People on FB don't necessarily create correct information on FB. Nothing like having a pic of your client get replaced with a pic of flower or their dead grandma because that is what they are currently using as their profile pic. If you want to connect your facebook friends in your contacts just put a link to the URL in your notes. Much safer on your data.
  13. Maverick0984
    Offline

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    But it does work...please view my post a few posts ago...
  14. Jungle King 76
    Offline

    Jungle King 76 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    Not sure if the OP got what he needed but there is a way to link two contacts in your phone together. If you have someone in your phone listed as Samantha, and then you sync your FB contacts and that same person is repeated as Sam....so you have two different entries for the same person. Simply click on one of those entries, click options, select edit, click options again, select join, then select which contact you want joined our merged with this one.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. AVNFAM
    Offline

    AVNFAM New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Most awesome! Thanks! Having duplicates was ANNOYING ME. Now, no more duplicates.
Search tags for this page

how do i sync my cell phone to facebook

,

how do i sync my facebook contacts to my cell phone

,
how do i sync my facebook contacts to my cell phone?
,
how do u sync contacts from facebook to cell phone?
,

how to get facebook contacts on cell phone

,
how to sync facebook contacts to cell phone
,

how to sync facebook contacts with cell phone

,

how to sync facebook with cell phone

,
how to sync friends on facebook to cell phone
,
sync facebook contacts to cell phone