1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

16gb sdhc class 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by dirtyfingers, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. dirtyfingers
    Offline

    dirtyfingers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My Droid X came with a class 2 sdhc card and I thought I read somewhere that they were supposed to come with a class 4 or 6 card. I can't remember which one, but I know it wasn't 2. Is this what everybody else received with their X or did you get a faster card?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  2. timrock
    Offline

    timrock New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't even remember. I switched to a 32gb card.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  3. Mont
    Offline

    Mont New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got my phone pre certified early December and it came with a class 4.
  4. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    I just checked my card, and it is a class 2.

    I got my DX in early August.
  5. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How can you tell what class it is if it is not listed on the card?
  6. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    Mine didn't say class 2, there was a circle with a 2 in it on the upper right of the card. So I just assumed that meant class 2.
  7. Mont
    Offline

    Mont New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It has the number circled around it.
  8. zodder
    Offline

    zodder New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Just a heads up, I haven't been able to to get my class 10 16GB card to work consistently with my X.
  9. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is Class 2. Must be generic. Nice Verizon.

    Where does it say they should be class 4?
  10. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    Mine was at least a San Disk, and it was made in China, not Taiwan.
  11. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to Motorola tech support, any class will work. I would assume the interface could take advantage of class 4 and 6 cards. I guess you could load a big picture onto a class 4 and 6 card and see how long it takes to load up each one.
  12. longboardskier
    Offline

    longboardskier New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What card you get actually depends on where you bought the phone, not anything to do with Verizon.

    I bought mine at the kiosk at Costco and I got a no-name brand class 2 16GB card that failed on me. But for $12 including shipping on Amazon I got a Sandisk class 4 8GB (I didn't really need 16GB anyways).
  13. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why not have Verizon give you another working card?
  14. longboardskier
    Offline

    longboardskier New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that, but since it was a different brand of card than the ones that come bundled with phones from Verizon, they wouldn't do it. They said I would have to go back to where I bought it to exchange it. I did that, but the way Costco works is that the card and the phone act as one unit, so they can't exchange JUST the card, they would have to do the phone as well and give me a whole new phone and card (with the same cheap no-name card in it). My phone was fine, and I didn't want to risk using another cheap card (only learned that it it was a cheap card when I tried to exchange at VZ!).
  15. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, gotcha. I think I got the same cheap no name card.
  16. longboardskier
    Offline

    longboardskier New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine didn't look that bad!

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROIDX
  17. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1

    Thats complete bs. Did you even call Verizon? Seriously... If anything I bet they thought you had an after market SDcard, the retail packaging is the same from every single vendor, its just the supplier changing the SDcards. Verizon or Motorola package whatever cards they have in stock with the phones. Some get the Sandisk class 4, some get a generic class 2, it just depends on the time of order.
  18. longboardskier
    Offline

    longboardskier New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't, but you do have a point. I guess I just took the store's word for it. I'm calling and going to see what they say over the phone.
  19. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ours look exactly the same...:unsure:
  20. longboardskier
    Offline

    longboardskier New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol yes you're right...I just looked at the picture on the right. I see that now. Been one of those days!

    So I just talked to VZ. Apparently that SD card is actually a Motorola card, at least that's what they told me. So it looks like it may be possible to get it replaced directly through Motorola. I'm going to try and format it using the SD adapter (that came with the SD card I bought) on my computer to see if that makes any difference. The VZ guy said that formatting on the phone and formatting on a computer are two completely different processes so I might have better luck on the computer.
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
Search tags for this page

16gb micro sd card made in taiwan class 2

,
its the motorola milestone x sdhc compatible?
,
motorola android micro sdhc 16gb taiwan
,
older version of the hc micro sd card 16g
,
sdhc micro made in taiwan