z4root stopped

goldwingnut

Reaction score
I have a Droid X and have been considering rooting for awhile now with a lot of apprehension. I've been reading everything I can find about this subject and finally decided to download z4root and give it a try.

Started it "permanent root" at 17:20, at 18:02 the little rotating circle stopped going round and round. Now I'm sitting here with a very sick feeling in my stomach.

I really do need some good advice...

Please Help...

bendystrawboy

Reaction score
did you install the apk then run it?
i find it works best if you install, restart phone, then do it.

OP
goldwingnut

goldwingnut

Reaction score
Pulled the battery, turned the phone back on, checked "enabled usb debugging" to make sure it was still enabled. Restarted z4root, has been running about 45 minutes now. Think I'm going to bed, got to get up at 4am and go to work. Will check it in the morning.

Thanks for your help. I'm a NOOB for sure, and will be asking more questions if I can't find answers in the search. This forum is a great place for info, a lot of good folks willing to help others...

nerdslogic

Silver Member
Reaction score
you might want to try and dl from a different link. Also do you have 1.3 version? You should make sure you have the newest version.

1KDS

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
If it runs for more than 10-15 minutes just pull the battery and try it again, it takes a few tries sometimes. If you end up needing a new apk there are lots of proven good links here: Z4root download links / Get your root on here!

OP
goldwingnut

goldwingnut

Reaction score
Thanks for the help. I got ready to got to bed last night and decided to check it one more time, and hooray dancedroid dancedroid dancedroid, I'm rooted... Took about an hour.

After I got to work this morning, I purchased Titanium Backup Pro and backed up all system and data files... I'm loving this DX:greendroid: more everyday...