Z4mod or RSD lite

delaneybob

Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to Droid. A tech buff but I kept my a840 flip for a long time due to international travel and the Storm was not a good alternative. No more travel so I got a Droid-X.

I have read various posts and it appears that Z4mod allows root/unroot in case I ever need to return the phone back to VZW. I have used RSD lite way back as a substitute for Moto Phone Tools on the a840, so I am not afraid of a little technology, in fact I know Linux a fair amount.

My minimum goals:
- lengthen battery life
- control 3G
- install a GPS app

My ultimate goals
- customize the phone without bricking it

Everywhere I read, I have seen the warnings and examples of bricking the phone. I do not want to do that obviously so i am inclined to shoot for my minimum aspirations.

So, Z4mod or RSDlite to be able to root/unroot given what my minimum goals are

Appreciate the help

louy99

Reaction score
http://search.***********/search.html?searchmode=2&searchName=z4root.apk. this the the file you need to root. Download and install this app using your phone. Its a one click root process.

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums

OP
D

delaneybob

Reaction score
Great thanks- the other item is I noticed that WEP Wifi is not on the 2.3.3 Android build on Droid-X. Will rooting allow me to use WEP Wifi authentication?

OP
D

delaneybob

Reaction score
Kaspersky blocked z4mod download

Said it had a trojan from the 4share site- this expected?

huskur

Reaction score
Get z4root from here directly. Scroll down and you will see the link.

[APP] z4root - xda-developers

Keep in mind that if you are running Gingerbread that there is no root for it yet. You would have to SBF back to Froyo to obtain GB and root

OP
D

delaneybob

Reaction score