Universal S3 GPS issue. On my 3rd S3 and same issue!!!

cmdaniels1986

Hi All,

I'm new to this forum, and have an issue I want to check out. I do a TON of driving, and a ton of hiking. I am a software developer, and not technology inept! This is my 3rd samsung galaxy s3. Every single device developes the same issue after a month or so. My GPS cannot get a lock on any satelights, and renders the Google Maps/backcountry navigator useless.

Has anyone else had an issue with this, and has anyone discovered any fixes? Two of the associates at my local Verizon store have come across the same issue and have switched phones. This is a mess!!!

Thanks!

I went through a similar issue just a few days ago, but turning my GPS off and on again fixed the issue for me, and didn't happen before and hasn't happened since.... I hope you can figure it out! This is a generally great phone, and it sucks that you're having issues.

I had a similar issue with my droid 3. It'd seemingly forget how to lock on gps. The fix i found was through an app off the playstore called gps status and toolbox. Open the app, menu, manage a-gps state, reset. I dont know if it'll work for you, but i suppose it couldn't hurt to try...

OP
C

cmdaniels1986

I had a similar issue with my droid 3. It'd seemingly forget how to lock on gps. The fix i found was through an app off the playstore called gps status and toolbox. Open the app, menu, manage a-gps state, reset. I dont know if it'll work for you, but i suppose it couldn't hurt to try...

Yeah, I've tried GPS Status and tried a reset. I've also factory reset all three phones, and the issue seems to be permanent. I have run into a handle of people who have had the same issue, and all I can say is that Verizon had better let me switch devices. With my plan, I spend over $3600 a year for all of the phones on my plan. (6 smartphones, and a hot spot).

Hyporea