Turn of Global GSM Signal and you will get better battery life

bw13

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Has everyone turned off the GSM signal and set it to CDMA only?? Verizon has Global Roaming turned on as the default when you get this phone which is stupid since the majority of people will never use this phone out of the country and if and when they do they can turn it on. If you turn off the GSM radio you will get better battery life since the phone won't be searching for a signal that doesn't exist.
 

Rocky

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
How exacly do I turn it off?

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Hi.

From any homescreen: Menu > Settings > Wireless and networks > Mobile networks > Network mode > CDMA


Cheers
 

Budman17r

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
I have done this and I think it helps

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
 

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
272
Location
Massachusetts
Also, as some have done with the Pro, take the sim card out or turn it around.
 

NoBloatware

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
744
Reaction score
11
Slightly off topic but I also noticed that the WIFI sleep policy is set to never. Perhaps "turn off when screen off" is better. To check, go to wifi settings then hit the menu key > advanced > wifi sleep policy
 

shaf786

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
What if your living in the UK. What do we change it to then :(

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
 

shaf786

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Don't you have GSM there?

Sent from my A855, while on the move.

O my bad, I'm not so clever when it comes to data networks. I thought I had to have it on global seeing as I'm not using the phone in america.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
 

shaf786

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Don't you have GSM there?

Sent from my A855, while on the move.

O my bad, I'm not so clever when it comes to data networks. I thought I had to have it on global seeing as I'm not using the phone in america.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
 
Top