Thoughts on managing DB template for multiple DBs within app?

Guitarist

Reaction score
I could use some thoughts or insights on the best approach to handing multiple SQLite DBs for an Android app. I have an existing Java application that acts as a Research tool and I want to convert it to an Android app. I'm new to Android development and could use some ideas on the best approach.

About the App:
The existing Research DB is an app that allows a user to create a subject oriented database for research that requires the user to document a source for each note on the subject... literally as if doing research or as you would for a thesis or research paper. Sources can be books, videos, articles, online resources, etc. and files can be attached. So there is a blank template database (i.e. blank.db) that is copied and renamed to the subject the user chooses to research. The SQLite template database contains 11 tables linked to a Notes table. The remaining 10 tables are Sources, Authors, Author_by_Source, Comments, Quotes, Terms, Topics, Files, File_by_Note, Questions.

However, a user can delete or destroy any database they wish except the blank.db and sample.db which come with the app.

I attached a Zip file example of the blank.db (SQLite)

What have I done:
I've have been reading and doing hands-on tutorials learning the Android C.R.U.D approach through the DatabaseHelper, which is so cool and so simple. I've also learned about the Asset folder and storing databases already created within a sub folder called databases. I already see room for improvement to my existing app. So this where I ask my question(s).

So the Discussion Questions:
What is the best way to handle creating new databases?
Currently, a blank.db template is copied and renamed. The user simply selects from a menu "Create New Database" and provides a name for it. Then the blank.db is copied and renamed. However, I'm thinking it should just be programmatically created every time... thoughts?