Tasker Help

kbrown.1407

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I am new to the site and fairly new to android (less than a year switched over to Verizon Thunderbolt from iPhone). I recently checked out the Tasker app and am very intrigued by its capabilities. I have done some research all over (including tasker wiki) and haven't quite grasped the entirety of the application. I had a few profiles I was wanting to set up and was hoping I might be able to get some help with the requirements. As I stated, I am by no means an expert but I have done some independent research and have a minimal understanding of the app. The profiles I am interested in are below. Any help would be appreciated (step by step is preferred/appreciated).

Home (Assumed Location Based?)
-I would like my phone to turn on Wifi when I arrive home
-Send a text notifying person/people I have arrived home safely (Weekdays only if possible)
-Also set up to turn Wifi off when I leave (exit task)
Not sure what the best way to do this is to still conserve battery (Net only, no GPS?)

Car Mode (Likely based on Power or docked if I get a car dock)
-Turn on GPS
-Turn on Bluetooth
-Open Navigation App (I've seen Car Home(?) but it's apparently not compatible with TB. Any comparables out there?)
-Read any incoming texts while in Car mode (does this require a separate profile?)
-If possible also allow for dictating responses

As I understand it, exit tasks aren't required for some things (turning off GPS, Wifi, etc) as the phone will revert back to the original settings once that profile is no longer active. Is this correct?

That is all I have at this time. Again, any help is appreciated.

Grievous

Reaction score
Here's a quick location based profile example:

Profile: Work (8)
Enter: Wifi On (9)
A1: WiFi [Set:On]
A2: Send SMS [Number:715-123-4567 Message:Get to work Store In Messaging App:Off]

Exit: Wifi Off (10)
A1: WiFi [Set:Off]

You can set the GPS scan rate in preferences