Root Question...

4shlr

Reaction score
Noob here when it comes to rooting...had the OG Droid for 2 years stock & now have the TBolt stock since it came out. Been very happy with stock Bolt but am thinking I'd like the free wifi hotspot available with root. My noob question is once you root do you have to add a certain ROM for the free wifi hotspot to work or will it work once rooted?? Any info would be great, thanks!

OP
4shlr

4shlr

Reaction score
Awesome thanks... Next noob question: where do I get the free wifi hotshot? Or do I just use the Verizon app but not get charged?? Thanks again

Also, are you rooted tbolt?

Sent from my 'Bolt

Dolfan

Reaction score
It will work on the stock ROM once you are rooted. No need for a certain ROM.

This post is Incredible 2!
I tryed rooting my droid the other day...got really no replys when I got in some trouble..so got out of the bootloop I was in and reloaded the stock setup and took the lastest stock update again...seems like the Tbolt has lost alot of the support it had

OP
4shlr

4shlr

Reaction score
So the revolutionary method is not working for me since I have the latest update from VZW, running 2.3.4, software # 2.11.605.9...from the searching I've done it looks like I need to downgrade to the older version for this method to work. The problem I have is this method says it won't wipe data, but downgrading to the older version says it will wipe data...Is there really no updated way to root 2.3.4 using revolutionary without data wipe??

Dolfan

Reaction score