Root or Not to Root that is the question

Siouxsie

Reaction score
I am New to all things android and am trying to learn as much as possible. I am undecided on whether to root or not and would like to ask the community what the ups and downs are. I LOVE tinkering and getting inside
things to see how they work(regularly void warranties) and making them my own but with Very Limited(NO)funds if I brick my phone I am hosed!!
I have customized the Droid3 to where I like it so far and if I do root will it all be lost? Is it easy to convert back to stock? Am I treading where I don't belong in trying to own my phone as much as possible?
If I posted in the wrong place I apologize and if this is a stupid set of questions I am sorry.
Thank you in advance for anything advice,tips,tricks, etc.

I am with you. The main reason I would root would be to get a wireless hotspot but I believe you can do this with PDAnet without rooting so my top reason is gone. My second would be to remove bloatware but I don't think you can do that simply by rooting and there are other things needed that are not available yet. I'd probably be just doing it for tinkering sake which is not a good reason given the risk.

I don't see how you can even manage to brick your phone during the root process. I used oneclick root so all I had to do was open up the program on my computer then it says pug in the phone, now this is where you could mess it up. If you have a sudden urge to unplug your phone during the automatic root process and just can't resist but to unplug it. Other than that it will do everything on its own, you just watch it restart it self three times and then it will say its done then you unplug it, that's all it takes. After that then you can get apps to freeze or remove bloatware, different roms, maybe someday soon overclock it, free mobile hotspot

I hear you....my issues are a couple of things (speaking personally don't want to hijack the thread)