ROM Manager does nothing

chrisrcarey

Reaction score
I am completely new to rooting and to be honest the main reason I wanted to root was to Access wifi tethering. I tried barnacle and open garden, neither worked, connected items just went to verizons hotspot sign up page. Read that you had to use radiocomm, got a link but told should create a nandroid backup first. Downloaded Rom Manager, did the Flash Clockwork recovery to setup then clicked backup current rom but all it does is restart my phone. Once rebooted I look in manage my roms and there is nothing in there.

Please help me, I am desperate to get my D2G to wifi tether but I want to move forward knowing if I screw something up it will be backed up and I can start over.

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+
Hi again Chris :)

On a phone with a locked bootloader (like your D2G) ROM Manager will not work to boot into recovery to perform the back up. You need an app called Bootstrap. It can be found on the market and once you have it you can boot into clockwork and perform the nandroid.

OP
C

chrisrcarey

Reaction score
Hey man, thanks for all your help.

Ok so once I get bootstrap installed I run bootstrap recovery or reboot recovery....

And then I run rom manager?

Anything else special I will have to do? What is the risk in running bootstrap?

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+
When using bootstrap you hit the top button first (bootstrap recovery), once the success message pops up - hit OK, and then hit the bottom button (reboot recovery). This will boot you into Clockworkmod Recovery where you can use the menus to create the full nandroid back up.