Questions about Overclocking

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
OK...rooted noob here, running a Droid 2, rooted, and I so love this phone. I originally rooted for the tethering feature, and I have been reading various posts and threads around the forum about overclocking. Sure I'd love to get a little better speed out of the phone, but I am a noob when it comes to voltages and settings, and I don't want to get stuck in a boot loop like some have posted about. My questions are:

Whats the best settings to choose for a rooted Droid 2 running the stock ROM?

Which is the better of the two apps, the one by "Jrummy" or the one by "Unstable"?

How does overclocking affect battery life?

I am proud to say that with all the apps I have installed on my phone, I still get AWESOME battery life, even with heavy internet usage and talking and texting. (I use SetCPU and an Appkiller to conserve battery) If I'm gonna get a little extra speed out of it, am I going to be sacrificing battery life?

Thanks in advance for any help/answers.

paulp04

Reaction score
Every phone is different. One setting on mine won't necessarily work on your phone.
As far as apps... I don't know, I edit the files manually and activate in term.
In most cases you can gain speed while even saving your battery life. I overclock and undervolt. Currently I'm stable at 1.2ghz with less voltage(0. 2 less).

Sent via DROID X 2.2 rooted running Rubix Focused 1.0 on Verizon Wireless

mza929

Reaction score
i prefer...

Jrummys... as of right now there is more apps.

The great thing about the D2 overclockers is the fact that if you select a speed or voltage that your phone cannot handle, then you reboot and try another as the stock settings will be applied on a reboot.
**** just remember, you need to test the speeds and voltages for some time before selecting the apply at boot option.****

OP
MattyP

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score