noob with questions on Roms & themes

PbSandman7

Reaction score
I am hoping to get some insightful information on roms and themes. I am a little new to all of this so bear with me if possible. I have rooted,4ever rooted my bionic. I also just installed TB, Root explorer and safestrap so I can have the recovery and the abilitly to flash themes, roms.. etc. My first question is, can you just install a theme or do you have to flash a theme on top of a specific rom.. assuming they are compatible?
When you run a Rom and/or theme, does it carry all of your current apps and programs along with it? I like the looks of some themes that are available but also want to keep the current functionality of my phone, current apps, etc. I did some searching but didn't find much along these lines but I thought I read a little while back that you don't want to install apps on a different rom..? It can create problems.
I just installed safestrap this morning so I haven't had much time to mess with it. Install was simple of course. In the safestrap app is the "install recovery" the starting process to creating a nandriod backup? I want to make sure I do that correctly first, before I starting flashing stuff.
I will probably have more questions along the way but I think this is a good start.

thanks in advance for any help.

Droid Firefighter

Reaction score
Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
Current Phone Model
S8
1. Themes are ROM specific and can only be flashed on top if their respective roms.

2. Apps will be deleted because you have to wipe data and cache before flashing a new ROM. Back up your apps with tb then you can reinstall them and restore data through tb.

3. You shouldn't have any problems with apps running on a new ROM. I for one have never had an issue in two and a half years.

4. I can't help with safestrap because I don't use it but you HAVE to create a backup. That its your "safe place" should you have a problem flashing a new ROM.