New to Android

destinydmm

Reaction score
My name is Mike and am 25 yrs old. I consider myself to be some what of a tech geek but I am no programmer.

I am coming to Android from Windows Mobile :icon_ poke:. I did very well with XML, and Facade and other SBSH apps. I had the Moto Q & Q9c, HTC Touch & Mogul. I've worked with the Palm Centro, Treos, etc. I did very well with unlocking, hacking and customizing those phones.

But Android. . . . its a whole new beast :motdroidvert: to me. I hope to learn the lingo soon. I'm terrified to root :icon_eek:. I get it, but scared of it. I love my Droid :icon_ banana:, which is my first every Android phone. I have to say it is by far the best OS I have come in contact with. I hope to both learn & teach; help & be helped, as I roam this forum. Thanks in advance to all who will help me along this Android road.

UPDATE: As of 2/26/10 I am hooked!!!!
:iphone: + :blackberry: + :palm: = :icon_ ban:

Last edited:

Corinacakes

Super Moderator
Theme Developer
Reaction score
:welcome:

i was scared to death to root too....just do more reading on it and you'll eventually get the nerve up:D

unix.punkx

Silver Member
Reaction score
I highly recommend the SM Updater app the sholes team (smart guys who provide a very stable 2.1 ROM) and its almost idiot proof. It does all the doity work for you.

KZIWarrior

Silver Member
Reaction score
:welcome: to the club.
Personally I recommend http://rootyourdroid.info/ they have GREAT, user-friendly, easy tutorials to get your feet wet and cover everything from rooting to OCing. Don't worry to much though, because the boot loader it's VERY HARD to screw up your phone (there has yet to be a single truly 'bricked' device confirmed) so whatever damage you may do will be recoverable. But with your experience I doubt you'll have to worry about it.