New Member To The Droid Community

dwilli9013

Reaction score
Hello all my name is Dwayne. I have recently went the droid 2 global route with Verizon as my carrier. I am a long time Palm user starting with the Treo 650 through the Palm Pre Plus. I also have quite a few hours logged in with a blackberry tour for my work cell. I am very interested in development in the droid platform and have already rooted my droid as well as downloaded the most basic apps as outlined in the forum. I have not really gotten brave enough to try out a new rom yet but I figure with browsing some of the great tutorials on this site I will soon attempt it.
I am actually a design engineer by trade specializing in robotics and automation. Much to my wife's dismay I try to stay on top of the latest technology. So she usually loses me for about a week until I figure out the new geek toy (as she calls it) then I will start giving her a bit more attention and all is well. I went one up on her this time and when I upgraded my phone from pp+ to d2g I also upgraded her from a voyager titanium to a twin d2g but in white. So now my plan is to pull her along slowly into the geek arena. This way I don't catch as much grief as I normally would. I have thoroughly enjoyed the forums to date and hope to for some time to come. I have not posted a reply to a thread as yet but hope to soon as I don't want to come out of the gate sounding like an idiot.
I have varied interests to occupy my free time in any number of hobbies. I think one of my favorites is taking the Harley out for a head clearing roar down the back roads. During the winter months I am involved pretty heavily in ebay as a side business to supplement my tech funding. My children are all grown and onto their perspective paths in life so that means I get to spend all of their inheritance on tech toys & gadgets and motocycles and muscle cars. My how nice when you reach that stage.