Need MAJOR help - screwed up wife's Inc2

andysly5

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
I decided to root her phone tonight and boy was that a mistake. I used the Revolutionary method and got root. Then I tried applying the official 2.3.4 ROm from Chinese Telcomm. As soon as I did, the "Verizone Wireless" in my notification bar and everywhere else changed to "Preferred System" and I no longer have any 3G access. Only wifi is working.

I immediately restored the backup I made prior to flashing that ROm and had the same exact issue. I thought about unrooting but I can't get ADB to work .

Does anyone have any idea how I can fix this? Please, I am desperate!

Thanks!
 

ambrown

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
482
Reaction score
11
Did you try a factory reset? That's the best thing I can think to try at the moment.

Sent from my Droid Incredible on 2.3.4 using the DroidForums app
 

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
7,292
Reaction score
272
Location
Massachusetts
Not sure why you thought flashing a Chinese ROM was a good idea, however, it sounds like it borked the radio firmware.

You'll have to find a ROM (for Verizon) that includes a radio. Maybe even an ruu flash.

Sent from my A855, while on the move.
 
OP
A

andysly5

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Thanks guys. I flashed the Chinese rom because I thought that was the best way to get 2.3.4. Big mistake.

Any rom you can suggest for Verizon that includes the proper radio?
 

Rhayader

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
I'd start by flashing the official Dinc2 gingerbread RUU. You can download it and get instructions here:

http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...8-605-4-same-as-the-official-gingerbread-ota/

Sounds like you should be able to follow this procedure as long as you can get into the bootloader.

Once you're back to stock, I would stick with the most well-known custom ROMs (cyanogenmod, MIUI, etc) if you decide to flash custom ROMs. Good luck!

Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
 
OP
A

andysly5

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Thank you all for your help.

Tonight I am going to try flashing the proper radio first and then I'll try the RUU Rhayader suggested.

Interesting note - found this on the Cyanogen forums (I think) in regards to the various radios out there:

If you notice that all the RUU's with 1401 in them (the Chinese releases) all have a radio that has the third series of numbers as 50. The US Verizon releases all have 01 as the third series. I would stick with US released radios for US Verizon phones.
 
Last edited:

ABQNM

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
502
Reaction score
1
Thank you all for your help.

Tonight I am going to try flashing the proper radio first and then I'll try the RUU Rhayader suggested.

Interesting note - found this on the Cyanogen forums (I think) in regards to the various radios out there:

If you notice that all the RUU's with 1401 in them (the Chinese releases) all have a radio that has the third series of numbers as 50. The US Verizon releases all have 01 as the third series. I would stick with US released radios for US Verizon phones.

Lol at least quote me... I posted that on XDA. xD You should be able to just flash the radio and be good to go.
 
OP
A

andysly5

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Lol at least quote me... I posted that on XDA. xD You should be able to just flash the radio and be good to go.

I promise I was not trying to claim that info as my own.....:biggrin: I had just been on so many sites looking for solutions that I couldn't remember where I had read it.
 

ABQNM

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
502
Reaction score
1
I promise I was not trying to claim that info as my own.....:biggrin: I had just been on so many sites looking for solutions that I couldn't remember where I had read it.

lol I know. Haha I thought it was funny that it was an exact copy and past quote but you forgot where it came from. It is all in good fun. I enjoy helping and don't care how the info gets out, as long as it helps.

Did you get it fixed though?
 

drico

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
You could always just take it to verizon and get the phone replaced...no big deal. The phone has a one year manufacture warranty. Simply try to remove as much evidence that the phone has been rooted and take it to them telling them you can't connect to the network and you don't know whats wrong with it. I wouldn't mention that you rooted the phone and if they ask simply plead that you don't know what they are talking about. Their phone specialists aren't that bright anyway so you should be fine.
 

ABQNM

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
502
Reaction score
1
You could always just take it to verizon and get the phone replaced...no big deal. The phone has a one year manufacture warranty. Simply try to remove as much evidence that the phone has been rooted and take it to them telling them you can't connect to the network and you don't know whats wrong with it. I wouldn't mention that you rooted the phone and if they ask simply plead that you don't know what they are talking about. Their phone specialists aren't that bright anyway so you should be fine.

Thanks for your reply, however that would require using the stock RUU which would fix the issue since the radio needed to just be flashed to the Verizon radio. The correct and simple fix for it is to just flash the Verizon radio. I believe the OP has probably resolved this by now though as this is from 3 weeks ago.
 
OP
A

andysly5

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Hi, sorry for the delay in response. No matter what I tried I could not get 3g working again. Flashing the stock RUU returned the phone to the Verizon network. But 3g connectivity was still no go. I took it to the store to see if they could work some magic. They couldn't so they volunteered to replace it.

Needless to say, my days of hacking the wife's phone are over. I am still trying to make up for it!
 

ABQNM

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
502
Reaction score
1
Glad they replaced it for you without incident.

The radio chip can be a bit picky - I spent a while helping another forum member offline the other day because of a radio update (0722 - the newest Verizon radio) that would not allow any phone calls at all. Flashed the radio a few times and the old radio and nothing. Tried a lot of things and then just a shot in the dark suggested just dropping it on the sd card and flashing that way (checking md5 first of course) and it worked. So it seems that the radio can be a bit picky.
 
OP
A

andysly5

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Amazing how one little thing can so much out of whack!
 
Top