Need help rooting my Droid 2 after verizon updated to gingerbread??

s10rodder

Reaction score
Alright, A couple days ago my phone automatically updated, I searched around and found out that means I now have gingerbread?? Now I no longer have root access and would love to have it back... I have found hundreds of threads on how to do this, but no clue which one to try, as I am a newb and pretty nervous... Can someone point me to a thread to explain the easiest way to get my root back? If there is a one click, that would be fantastic...if not, just need simple...lol I NEED my tether back!!! Thanks for any help!!

OP
s10rodder

s10rodder

Reaction score
not sure if I am doing something wrong or not, but went there, DL'ed the zip file, and I couldn't find the exact file that he said to open...but opened something, it runs, it has a button on the bottom that says root your phone...and it just says, "searching for phone"...I have tried all the different "USB connection modes" and my pc is recognizing the phone, but this program is not...how long does it take for it to recognize?? Sorry I am so ignorant on the subject...

cwilkins

Reaction score
The "one click" exe file didn't work for me. There's another that has a bat file full of adb commands. It's made for DroidX/Droid3 with stock GB and only gets you part way there. You can then get an adb shell with a hash pompt, remount root filesystem r/w, copy Superuser.apk, su and busybox to the root filesystem and you're good to go.

At least until you try to tether. That's another story...

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums

UrbanBounca

Rescue Squad
Staff member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Reaction score