[Need Advise] develop apps running in android

garyyee

Reaction score
Dear All Friends,

I am new to android app development but I have basic programming experience :)

I planning to develop an application that can running in android platform and hope you can give me some ideas and tips.

Basically I want to build an application for the user to do the daily inventory records.
These daily inventory record will need to be consolidate back to a central computer (we can connect via cable to update), so the records are updated in one place and able to generate reports.

I am thinking of MS excel and MS Access, but I am not sure whether that is possible.

I hope you can share me your generous idea.

Many thanks.

Gary

danialgoodwin

Reaction score
Hi Gary,

In the past few weeks, have you gotten any further on your idea?

Your app idea is possible, though the data will be first consolidated on a database (Ex: MySQL, NoSQL, SQLite, and Microsoft, Google, and Amazon each have their own type of database you can use as a central location). Then you can allow users to save or export data in a format they prefer (easiest one in my opinion is CSV). They could save the data to their phone and use a cable to transfer the file to the computer, or it could do the connection through WiFi. You could have an option in the app to send the data or summarized report to the user's email.

There are many different ways to create each app.

When starting off developing apps, the best way to gain experience is to make many small apps for different purposes. Then, slowly just start adding more functionality to each of the different apps. When you are first starting off, the official Android site, Getting Started | Android Developers, is going to be your best friend. The page I linked you to has all the information you need for your app.