Malicious permissions on popular applications

indee2025

Reaction score
For those of you who don't know there are many applications that you use everyday that read important information from your device and does who knows what with it......

The Ebay app available from the market is an excellent example, this application has permissions to read your phones serial number, contacts, addresses & your SMS messaging....messages within ebay sent to your sellers or potential buyers are not utilizing your SMS function so why would ebay need permission for that?

There are times where an application that is basic needs important permissions such as a game that needs access to the phone state/network state...this is simply to make sure that when you get a call the game can interrupt itself & allow you to answer the call....as a developer I always disclose the reason why my app needs whatever permission needed in the description...

Words with Friends has a permission setting that allows it to write to the SD card on your device....why? Well the reason is simple, to create a folder on your device's memory that contains ad banners so that the app can pull an ad to show you while in game...if you knew that was the reason would you allow that? NO you wouldn't...

I ran across an application called "Permissions Denied" it has been very successful in shutting down applications that require bogus permissions & now for example I play words with friends without seeing any ads after each play (there is still the small banner at the bottom in the menu)I also used this to shut off network access to other apps to include ebay from accessing SMS...