Info on apps

cheewee867

Reaction score
I am new to purchasing / downloading droid apps. When I select install on a free app, it tells me the application has access to the network communication and phone calls (read phone state and identity). What does this actually mean? Will the programmer has access to my phone directory?? Is this normal for the free apps?

I am very familiar with downloading apps from Apple and I have never been asked anything like this when downloading apps from them.

Any information that could be shared would be appreciated!!

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Yes, it is up to you to look at what the app does and compare that to the permissions it seeks. I've never had any sort of issue with this in the past 10 months, but it pays to be diligent. You must remember that Google does not really "approve" these apps in the same way that Apple does. This is an open system. So - Buyer Beware.

The main thing I do is only install apps which have been used extensively by people on this and other well known forums.

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
I am new to purchasing / downloading droid apps. When I select install on a free app, it tells me the application has access to the network communication and phone calls (read phone state and identity). What does this actually mean? Will the programmer has access to my phone directory?? Is this normal for the free apps?

I am very familiar with downloading apps from Apple and I have never been asked anything like this when downloading apps from them.

Any information that could be shared would be appreciated!!

Apple's market is not open sourced so it's stricktly controlled. You should read and see what an app is going to access before you install it.