I want to purchase a D2G. Just some Basic Q's first.

SpikeJones

Reaction score
About to purchase a D2G in one hour. Questions though first!

Hello.

This may seem completely stupid and irrational,
One hour to get a phone and ask questions...
But my parents want new phones before a trip!

Anyways.

Here they are.

I have recently decided, along with my parents, that we want to purchase droid phones. For my parents, the droid 2, and for me, the droid 2 global.

I am not new to the android community, I had the T-mobile G1 for a while, then ditched it for the Motorla Cliq, (ha.) and now I want to go to Verizon and get the D2G.

I am also an avid android fan, keeping up on many android news websites, so android as a whole is not something I am inexperienced with. (Sure, I am not a developer, or coder, but I know the basics)

I just have a few questions about the D2G.

I know that the battery of the D2G can fluctuate, depending on how much the phone is used. In my case, I use my phone a bunch, online, emails, texting, etc. So I know my battery life probably won't be amazing.
I am however, worried about my parents, who are totally new to the smart phone experience. So, on a quick tangent, how is battery life for the D2?
And for the D2G, how can I improve battery life, other than in the settings, brightness, and not using many apps at once?
I hear there is something called an extended battery, that helps, but makes the back of the phone "weird" (For lack of a better word).
Is this true?
If there is an extended battery, where can I purchase one?

Now, onto the second question.
Overseas calling.
I know that because this is a global phone, I can use it overseas, but I have heard that the sim card needs to be "unlocked".
What does this mean?
Can I not just travel and make calls?
Do I need to do something more?

And lastly, what are you D2G users final CONS?
Not Pros, because I know that the Pros are large in number, but CONS?
(Besides battery life)