How/Where do I start? Should I?

OwlD2G

Reaction score
I just got my new DROID 2 Global a few days ago, and I want to customize it, but I'm not a programmer. How/Where do I start my journey into mod'ing my D2G?

Many thanks.

OwlD2G

xPhoenix777

Reaction score
Welcome!

There are plenty of things you can do. Root and ROM the phone (a different feel to how the device operates. Generally better than the stock feel). You can root the phone and freeze the bloatware apps. Finally, since you are not a programmer and might not want to dig into the programming aspects, you could just see what apps in the market can do!

I know I may sound like a Jerk, but skim through the forums. There is so much useful information out there that me just giving you a couple links to tutorials would be unfair. There are many threads on rooting, romming, freezing apps, and some on apps you can find in the market!

Give it a look. If you are still lost, I (and I am sure others here) will give you some more solid direction.

Welcome to the Droid community, you won't regret owning an Android :)

EDIT:
A must download is Dropbox. If you haven't used it, it is a really good file storage/transfer/backup app that works on the Android as well as Mac/Win/Linux/iOS/etc... If you do any rooting/bootstrapping/romming - This will make installing APKs (Android app installers) a breeze!

OP
O

OwlD2G

Reaction score
Welcome!

There are plenty of things you can do. Root and ROM the phone (a different feel to how the device operates. Generally better than the stock feel). You can root the phone and freeze the bloatware apps. Finally, since you are not a programmer and might not want to dig into the programming aspects, you could just see what apps in the market can do!