[How To] Return your Galaxy Nexus to 100% Stock, Locked Bootloader

OP
jntdroid

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
312
Location
TX
ok, main link in the OP is fixed...
 

techinv

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
87
Reaction score
8
Been on step 9 of the directions in the OP for 15 mins

Actually had to do all steps twice. First time, I ended up back at 4.0.4.

Anyway, unlocked and relocked again.


On the second time around, been stuck at this step for 15 mins or so on the bolded step, so I ctrl c out of it!!
I hit the power button and now I seem to be stuck in boot animation.

Any suggestions?




C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>fastboot -w update image-mysid-i
cl53f.zip
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: PRIMEKK15
Baseband Version.....: I515.EK02
Serial Number........: 01466E621101A00E
--------------------------------------------
checking product... OKAY [ 0.007s]
checking version-bootloader... OKAY [ 0.009s]
checking version-baseband... OKAY [ 0.008s]
checking version-cdma... OKAY [ 0.008s]
sending 'boot' (4074 KB)... OKAY [ 0.471s]
writing 'boot'... OKAY [ 0.299s]
sending 'recovery' (4406 KB)... OKAY [ 0.508s]
writing 'recovery'... OKAY [ 1.035s]
sending 'system' (325583 KB)... OKAY [ 36.938s]
writing 'system'... ^C

C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>
C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>
C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>fastboot reboot-bootloader
rebooting into bootloader... OKAY [ 0.007s]
finished. total time: 0.008s

C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>fastboot oem lock
... OKAY [ 0.477s]
finished. total time: 0.478s





C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>
 
OP
jntdroid

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
312
Location
TX
weird... that part always takes the longest, but I don't believe it ever took 15 minutes... hmm
 

techinv

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
87
Reaction score
8
well, I'm definitely stuck in boot animation now.

I think I may have shot myself in the foot here, was rushing and did not use 7zip, used winzip to extract.

When I connect the phone to my laptop now, not able to talk to it with adb.
 
OP
jntdroid

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
312
Location
TX
pull the battery and boot into the bootloader (press and hold volume up + volume down, then press/hold power at the same time), then you can start over from there
 

techinv

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
87
Reaction score
8
OK, thx for the suggestion.

Started from scratch and have been sitting at the same point in step 9 now for about 13 mins 'writing system'.

Not sure how long to let it sit there, or what to do if that command never finishes?
 

techinv

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
87
Reaction score
8
All's well that ends well I guess.

Ctrl C'd out of the script and finished the remaining instructions.

When I rebooted, it stayed at boot animation for a long time, but then finally came out of it and then went to boot animation again(!!!) before going to the activation screen.

Thanks again jntdroid for your help with this!
 
OP
jntdroid

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
312
Location
TX
All's well that ends well I guess.

Ctrl C'd out of the script and finished the remaining instructions.

When I rebooted, it stayed at boot animation for a long time, but then finally came out of it and then went to boot animation again(!!!) before going to the activation screen.

Thanks again jntdroid for your help with this!

Weird that it took that long but glad it worked out eventually... add that to the list of weird ways this method worked :)

sent from my phone
 

streetmike

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
Location
MI
Where do I find "bootloader-toro-primekk15.img" I downloaded the the.tgz and "extract here" with 7 zip but all that comes out is a .tar.


whats going on? lol

Please help.
 

streetmike

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
Location
MI
Have you tried unzipping the .tar to see what's inside it?

Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS


lol Yea I found that after I posted. I was like hmm could it be in there? And there it was!

One question though.
So I ran through all the steps up to step 8. The phone restarts and does the loading screen then restarts again. Everything is fine, but in order to finish locking it down, do I have to go through and sign into my account before I finish?
 

CJM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
10,600
Reaction score
1,746
Location
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6
Twitter
https://twitter.com/Corey
When I did this I didn't lock mine. But I wouldn't think you need to sign in to finish. I'd try locking it 1st

Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
 

streetmike

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
Location
MI
Yea I ended up having to sign in to enable USB debugging. Hopefully exchanging them under BB warranty tomorrow. Both my sisters and mine are horrendous in signal, missed texts and calls all the time. I am debating on whether to try another GN or try the razr maxx if they let us. Thanks!
 
Top