Help with Samsung s5 texting

Tony5496

Reaction score
Hi could someone please help me out I am new to the Samsung galaxy S5 is a lovely phone but having a few problems with it the problem at the moment is when I send a long text it comes back as failed on a long text if I sent a short text and it is okay it says at the bottom of the message failed MMS but it's not than MMS message I'm trying to send it's a text is it because I can't text over hundred 160 characters is there any way around this as it seems really odd and just don't understand it to be honest any help would be quite good many thanks.

Jeffrey

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7 Plus JB
Welcome to the Forum.

A standard SMS is 160 characters. Some phones can do extended text but this is acheived by stringing 3 normal messages together giving you a total of 480 charcters, which are charged as 3 messages by the network operator.

MMS.. you can send long text messages up to 1024 characters

OP
T

Tony5496

Reaction score
God this seems so silly as coming over from iphone it was not a problem with text size is there a third party app I can get to sort this out as I send long texts at work so why does it still not send in mms saying failed when I send a long one very confused don't really want to go back to iphone to sort this out many thanks

mountainbikermark

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
You may want to check this app. I believe it has a feature to accommodate an SMS over 160 characters.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.handcent.nextsms

I use Handcent and have it set to split messages by last word before hitting the 160 limit so the follow up text isn't split mid word. You can set it to split at exactly 160 also or not split at all.