Error message in ROM Manager/ Cannot boot in Recovery

Keller86

Reaction score
I'm a noob. I have rooted my phone, downloaded bootstrapper and ROM Manager Premium. Flashed, downloaded desired ROM and now when trying to reboot in recovery I get 1/3 of the way through and get the triangle exclamation point. EVERY TIME. I have researched and saw that I should download a different version of Clockwork mod and am getting the error message "An error occurred while downloading your recovery" I NEED HELP!

Thank you

challer2000

Reaction score
Are you deodexed? I had the same problem trying to run the black notification bar. I had to boot into recovery with bootstrap and find where rom manager downloaded the zip. Then install zip.

OP
K

Keller86

Reaction score
I'm not quite sure what that means. I am not sure where it is downloading the files. I always opened it from my notifications when it was done downloading. When rebooting in recovery with Bootstrap it boots as normal. I don't get the installation screen but I assumed that was because I wasn't trying to open with a new ROM.

wormbo

Reaction score
I am having this exact same problem, I have read up and have seen that I should flash to an older version of ClockworkMod Recovery, then flash back to the newest version.

I tried downloading an old version of recovery in ROM Manager, but it just says the same thing - "an error occurred while downloading your recovery"

What do I do? Can I manually flash an older version of CM Recovery?

I'm on a DROID X and have seen numerous threads about this, but none of them offer a solution or steps to flash an older recovery that works.

Anyone, please help, I am on stuck 2.2 with blur and I do not like it and want to flash my ROM!

Thanks
Wormbo

detox

Reaction score