Duplicate Contact Information While Texting

minime1327

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
When i compose a new message, multiple entries pop up for a single contact. Looks something like this:

Select Recepient:

John Smith: 555 5555 (History)
John Smith: 555 5555 (History)
John Smith: 555 5555 (Mobile)
John Smith: 555 5555 (Mobile)

Ideally, I would like to have one entry show up when I want to compose a text to John Smith. Is there a way to make this happen?
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
I don't have this issue at all. What messaging app are you using?

Sent from my Untouchable TB using Xparent Red Tapatalk
 
OP
M

minime1327

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
just the standard messaging app it came with....

am i just out of the loop and in need of a messaging app haha
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
Interesting. Well, I use Google Voice (Phone doesn't have service) but used Handcent before that. Is it just with certain contacts? Or are all of them like that?

Sent from my Untouchable TB using Xparent Red Tapatalk
 
OP
M

minime1327

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
the majority of my contacts are, or at least the ones i've been testing this on...

it may have something to do with the linking between the entry in my phone vs the entry in my saved google/gmail contacts, maybe because one uses hyphens to separate the numbers and the other is just all together.

it only occurs in messaging. under people, John Smith comes up as just one person with whatever linked accounts...
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
That was going to be my next question about the accounts the contacts are linked to.

Sent from my Untouchable TB using Xparent Red Tapatalk
 
OP
M

minime1327

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
yea, it's definitely an issue with google vs phone contacts....how can i remove one or the other
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
36
People > John Smith > Menu > Link and select or deselect as needed.

Sent from my Untouchable TB using Xparent Red Tapatalk
 
Top