Considering a Droid...currently have a Blackberry Pearl

99LS1SS

Reaction score
Like the title says, I have a Blackberry Pearl and I really like the email/text aspect of it but, I really dislike the internet capabilities that is has. Has anyone gone from a Blackberry, that liked the Blackberry email package, to the Droid and been happy? I'm just learning about the Droid and I'm ready for a new phone so I'm trying to make an informed decision. Any help or input would be appreciated.

Thank you.

GolfProRM

Reaction score
Came from a Pearl myself. While I did like the email on the Blackberry, the fact that my personal email was a Google email address made it an easy switch. The Gmail app on the Droid gets the job done, and the larger screen makes reading emails (especially formatted ones) much more pleasant. I setup Touchdown for my corporate exchange email and it works great!

I do somewhat miss SureType as I had gotten very used to it, but my full Qwerty speed is improving day-by-day.

The Droid is a completely different experience from a Pearl, but in reality, so much better. I can actually "surf the internet" on my phone now, which as you know with a Pearl is about impossible.

There are some apps I miss, but so far haven't found anything I couldn't replace in some form. Also the fact that I can install more than 3 apps without running out of memory is great!

It's hard for me to imagine going back to a Pearl. The trackball feels very antiquated now.

Edit: forgot to mention I typed this all on my Droid. :)

OP

99LS1SS

Reaction score
Thank you GolfProRM. That has eased my mind a little. How do you like the email package? I have two email accounts that I check frequently.

GolfProRM

Reaction score