About payed apps and the (L)GPL...

joyrider

Reaction score
Okay i just registered here since in my opinion it seems like one of the bigger and more active boards around on the net about android.

I got a little question and i'm asking it in the dev forum since well i'm a dev myselve and other dev's will probably know more about open source software and their (L)GPL licences...

How come it's possible people can ask money for software that has the (L)GPL license ? I don't fully understand the (L)GPL license since well it's basically written for laywers and such but doesn't it seem odd that developpers spending years of work on some project who don't ask money for it and publish it under the (L)GPL see their work being used in *ports* nowadays on mobile phones by other dev's which do ask money for it?

I mean the hard work all has been done by the initial developpers yet someone can just come along and port it some other platform and ask money for it... Don't get my wrong i do understand that porting to the android platform isn't as simple as porting some (linux) app to some handhelds like gp2x, wiz, pandora or the like since you'd have to use the ndk and rewrite parts of the app into a shared library but even so all one basically does then is write a wrapper around the application and make a frontend so it can be used on mobile phones...

Doesn't that seem odd to some of you ??? Does the (L)GPL allow this ?

I mean is it enough to release say only the shared lib part of the port and not the java related code (of the frontend) ?

It really seems a bit unfair to me...

Please share thoughts about this because i really can not understand how this is even possible...

neubanks89

Reaction score
Okay i just registered here since in my opinion it seems like one of the bigger and more active boards around on the net about android.