X Performance / Memeory tweaks

DiscoStu9

Reaction score
So, I'm an obsessive performance and efficiency techie, I'm the kinda guy that runs off 3 different OS on my PC for different situations, running baarely enough services on windows to be stable, build of almost bare linux kernel, etc.

I've heard conflicting things on forums about android performance, tweaking, and esp task killers. I'm very new to android (first android phone is the X), so I'm wondering what sagelike advice you more experienced users have, to make my X extra snappy and quick and not wasting loads of memory.

I've heard killing tasks does not help, but I have seen my available memory be around 250, but also as low as 75 or so with things running, or sometimes it seems inexplicable why I have so much or so little memory available.

Also heard about a bunch of apps to tweak and boost, and equal number of people saying these apps DONT help, or slow the machine. Defrag / cache clears? services choices w/o root?

What do you all think and do to keep your X or droid device super fast?

jvmxtra

Reaction score
So, I'm an obsessive performance and efficiency techie, I'm the kinda guy that runs off 3 different OS on my PC for different situations, running baarely enough services on windows to be stable, build of almost bare linux kernel, etc.

I've heard conflicting things on forums about android performance, tweaking, and esp task killers. I'm very new to android (first android phone is the X), so I'm wondering what sagelike advice you more experienced users have, to make my X extra snappy and quick and not wasting loads of memory.

I've heard killing tasks does not help, but I have seen my available memory be around 250, but also as low as 75 or so with things running, or sometimes it seems inexplicable why I have so much or so little memory available.