wireless tether not working with bb 2.1

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
so i just installed the tethering app which is 1.70 alpha and it doesn't work on bb. i went on the code.google.com site and i don't see any tether for 2.1...has nyone gotten tethering to run wih 2.1??
 

blackngray70

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
376
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
What is BB 2.1? There's a Bugless Beast v1.0 is that what you're referring too? If so wireless tether is working for me.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
I have BB V1.0 and barnacle works just fine for me. Give it a try
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
Yeah my bad, its bb 1.0 running 2.1 os. I haven't tried barnacle yet, but what version of wireless tether are you running. Im not sure why my computer wont recognize it
 

BigMcGuire

Active Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2009
Messages
1,040
Reaction score
2
Location
Los Angeles, California
What I did was - go to the Market and search for "wifi tether" - three came up: Barnacle Wifi Tether paid/unpaid (which I haven't tried). And Wireless Tether for Root Users --- which is what I'm using. Try that one.

When I go to help about -- the version of Wireless Tether for Root Users is 2.0.1 (riding a pony) :p That's what it says, lol.
 

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
so i just installed the tethering app which is 1.70 alpha and it doesn't work on bb. i went on the code.google.com site and i don't see any tether for 2.1...has nyone gotten tethering to run wih 2.1??

You installed the app but did you install a kernel that supports tethering?

In your second reply, you mentioned that your computer was not recognizing the phone. What are your settings?

Mike
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
hmm i didn't know the app was on the market...i guess i've been trying to run an outdated version, but now it connects!! that's awesome thanx fellas!
 

Dxun

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
254
Reaction score
1
Barnacle is the only 1 that works for me. It stats connected unless a phone call comes in of course. The Widow Tether that comes with some Rome out there disconnects constantly.
 
Top