Wifi tether w/out monthly fee?

Mookie

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
53
Reaction score
1
Location
99206
I am seriously considering the note, but I have not been able to find any concrete answer to my question.
Do I have to root the note 2 to get the wifi tether without paying the monthly fee? I am on verizon.

I have an iphone 4 and it is jailbroken and I have mifi tether and it works great for 3g. I have the phone modded to where it works, usually, without having to ever mess with it. But the specs on the Note 2, the large screen and stylus primarily, are making me really want it. If I have to pay for wife tether I am keeping my iphone. Now that I finally found a music player that almost rivals apples factory player I have no other use for it and I can finally get completely away from ifruit.

Thanks.
 

Mike8016

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
288
Reaction score
12
You can use foxfi. If you pm me you email I can send you a old version.

Sent From My Samsung Galaxy III
 

drew96dawg

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
1,105
Reaction score
26
Location
Mobile Al
I thought the fcc said that we can't be charged to tether lte?
I also use foxfi and highly recommend it

Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
 

Mike8016

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
288
Reaction score
12
I thought the fcc said that we can't be charged to tether lte?
I also use foxfi and highly recommend it

Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

The app creator is charging. They want us to pay $7 to use the app. The new version stops working after 30 min. I have that old version still

Sent From My Samsung Galaxy III
 

lloydstrans

Banned
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
13,565
Reaction score
5,937
I thought the fcc said that we can't be charged to tether lte?
I also use foxfi and highly recommend it

Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

unlimited accounts have to pay for tether, tiered and family share are free to use tether.
 

drew96dawg

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
1,105
Reaction score
26
Location
Mobile Al
The app creator is charging. They want us to pay $7 to use the app. The new version stops working after 30 min. I have that old version still

Sent From My Samsung Galaxy III

I have the old version also

Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
 

moosetags

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
21
Reaction score
2
Location
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
I am using FoxFi. I use it often without any problems. I downloaded this version
to my RAZR about two weeks ago. I plan to get a GN2 soon. I plan to continue using FoxFi.

Brian
 

lloydstrans

Banned
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
13,565
Reaction score
5,937
moosetags said:
I am using FoxFi. I use it often without any problems. I downloaded this version
to my RAZR about two weeks ago. I plan to get a GN2 soon. I plan to continue using FoxFi.

Brian

The new Foxfi charges $6.99 fee and a annual 99 cents a year on the new upgrade. Fortunately for some of us we didn't do the last update. And some of us have the version in storage.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Droid Forums
 

drew96dawg

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
1,105
Reaction score
26
Location
Mobile Al
I have version 1.91.2 if anyone needs it, wopback has posted it on 4shared as well


Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
 

lloydstrans

Banned
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
13,565
Reaction score
5,937
drew96dawg said:
I have version 1.91.2 if anyone needs it, wopback has posted it on 4shared as well

Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

Is 1.91.2? I have 1.95.2 and never updated. Oops answered my own question. Different phones.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Droid Forums
 

sharkattack99

Silver Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
503
Reaction score
157
Location
Moses Lake
Current Phone Model
Samsung Galaxy S8+
drew96dawg said:
I have version 1.91.2 if anyone needs it, wopback has posted it on 4shared as well


Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
Sweet thanks for the link and the wifi even works with foxfi
 
OP
Mookie

Mookie

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
53
Reaction score
1
Location
99206
Got the GN2 today. I knew it would be better, but holy cow does it rock. It is about the same jump from my iphone 4 as my qualcomm green screen to the Chocolate touch, although I think the Qualcomm was a better phone.

Foxfi works great, thanks.
Did a speed test on my phone. Wifi is my home network.
GN2 on 4g. 13 MPS
GN2 on wifi 4.5
PC on Wifi 5.3
TF700 on wifi 4.9
TF700 on tether 9.2
 

Caesars

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
115
I need to get Thatoff mY old phone So I can Test it

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
 
Top