Whats up people - Noob here lol

XxSinisteRxX

Reaction score
Hey everyone, my names Joe aka XxSinisteRxX. I currently own a Motorola Droid updated to the recent Froyo 2.2 system. I've joined this site mainly to find out how to "root" my phone so that i can overclock my processor and develop apps later once i've learned how to a lil bit.

I've been watching tutorial videos on youtube by DroidReview and others. Some make it seem easy, some not so much... And their all for the 2.1 or 2.0.1 version of my phone, but i haven't yet found a tutorial for the 2.2 version which is what i need. This will be my very first time rooting a phone and i don't wanna screw it up and brick my phone.

Basically need to know EXACTLY what programs i need installed on my computer(windows xp), and what stuff i need on my desktop for the phone and the whole rooting process. Someone's told me i may have to enter in some case specific codes? If anyone's willing to help me with this that'd be amazing, especially if you know the exact codes needed to overclock n enable my phone to develop apps. I do know their case sensitive and such.

Well that's about it or now. I look forward to spending some time on this site and learning new things about the Droid and the Android OS and being able to help others learn new tips and tricks once i have the proper know-how to do the teaching. Thanks and please hit me up anytime. :)

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
Welcome! Here are a few links that may help.
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/11102-all-one-popular-threads-read-before-posting.html
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/47871-overclocking-101-a.html

The overclocking is very technical but useful.

If you have questions or concerns post a thread in the hacking or rescue squad sections and the community will assist.

Hope this is helpful.

Mike

OP
XxSinisteRxX