What is "Allow data access for this trip?"

slimjimmy75

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
I have this pop up all the time and I cant figure out why. Anybody know how I can stop this? Thanks
 
OP
S

slimjimmy75

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Or does anybody know what service or app its related to at least?
 

dolph27

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
I have the same problem with Droid3. As I searched thru different forums, this problem with "Allow data access for this trip?" persists for more than 1 year since Droid2 (or X) device. This is rediculous why Motorolla can't fix it. It makes the phone really unusable in Canada (or anywhere else on foreign CDMA networks). I didn't have this on my HTC Droid Incredible (that I already miss a lot).
Fortunatelly this problem is not exists while phone is on GSM network (Europe).

Check this link:
https://supportforums.motorola.com/thread/34215?start=15&tstart=0
 
Last edited:
OP
S

slimjimmy75

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
If I open a song or search the web and lots of other things on my phone its constantly popping up " allow data access for this trip?" "deny data access for this trip?" "cancel" . Selecting deny or cancel closes it but it may pop up again in ten seconds. Selecting allow open a warning saying trips outside the us may have significantly higher data roaming charges. I just want it to stop.
 

dolph27

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Tell me about it! I wonder if there is some workaround, even "dirtry" one. To get it to stop popping (I have unselecting data on roaming don't @#$@#@ ask me every time!) ... I don't believe that people could have it for at leat one year and still using those stupid Motorolas...
 

dolph27

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Just got new "leaked" OTA update (5.7.894) for my DROID3. Same crap. "Allow data access?" pop is poping up like crazy every few minutes. I hate Motorola! The don't give a heck about this problem for over one year...

Miss my old HTC Incredible
 
OP
S

slimjimmy75

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
My son in law just got a commando too and his is doing the same thing as mine. Must be something about the area we live in if no one elses commando is doing this. sucks!!!!!!!!
 

DaKlaxx

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
My son in law just got a commando too and his is doing the same thing as mine. Must be something about the area we live in if no one elses commando is doing this. sucks!!!!!!!!

Hit deni and the immediately lock the phone.( also try opening an app that requires internet ) When you unlock the phone if it pops up again then deni and completely shut the phone off. Please let mer know if this helps

- Brought to you by
- DaKlaxx
 
OP
S

slimjimmy75

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
/\ I did what you said and will report the results. Just curious why you think this will help? Have you tried this or had this problem? Thanks
 

DaKlaxx

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
/\ I did what you said and will report the results. Just curious why you think this will help? Have you tried this or had this problem? Thanks

Yes I have had the problem and tried it it works about 60% of the time. Does it work for you?

- Brought to you by
- DaKlaxx
 
OP
S

slimjimmy75

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
It may effect the frequency of it not 100% yet. I'll keep trying to test the results. I know it has to do with global data roaming ,, apparently my phone thinks im about to leave the country about every 30 minutes or so . Thanks for trying to help Daklaxx. Does any one else on here EVER see this message please let me know. Thanks
 

dolph27

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Last edited:
OP
S

slimjimmy75

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
I think it works 60 % or so like you said. Thanks for the tip!
 

phone80

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Any updates with this problem. I'm currently trying to resolve this as I am working in Canada right now and the pop up message is driving me to want to leave Verizon and my Droid 3.
 

dolph27

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Any updates with this problem. I'm currently trying to resolve this as I am working in Canada right now and the pop up message is driving me to want to leave Verizon and my Droid 3.

There is no updates. Looks like Motorola don't care. They know about this issue, it is happening on every Moto Droid, but since majority of users don't travel outside of US - they don't give a f&ck about it.
Every time I'm in Canada I just crunch my teeth and keep clicking "Cancel" - No I don't f%#cking Allow Data access in Canada, I don't beleive that anybody wants (for $2.50/kb), why do you f#cking ask me, I already checked the box no Data access while roaming and I currently connected to WiFi (so WTF???)

Try to get rid of Moto if you still can and take HTC device (none of HTC devices infected by this stupidity)
 
Last edited:
Top