what happened to JIT??

tiggerxplur

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
650
Reaction score
1
Location
Phoenix AZ
i thought froyo was supposed to enable JIT i know the nexus 1 can use it but i havent read anything since the froyo leak for our droids came out does it work or will we have to wait for cyanogen or something from source to get it to work
 

Dave12308

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
3,252
Reaction score
50
JIT is built into Froyo, that is why the benchmark scores are much higher than they were running Eclair.
 

dmacleo

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,479
Reaction score
0
Location
Etna,ME
yeah, no longer is a separate app needed. I've tested JIT on cn5072 with no apps2sd and it did help, but not enough to offset the gains apps2sd gave me.
 
OP
tiggerxplur

tiggerxplur

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
650
Reaction score
1
Location
Phoenix AZ
i wasnt sure cause i watched the video comparison on the DX N1 and EVO snf the N1 was significantly faster than the moto droids even when OCed
 
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
174
Reaction score
0
Location
Orange County, CA
i wasnt sure cause i watched the video comparison on the DX N1 and EVO snf the N1 was significantly faster than the moto droids even when OCed

That's definitely not what my quadrant scores are saying. 1376?
And on Linpack im getting a solid 17.1mflops.
Thats pretty damn fast imho.

I'm running BB 0.4, with Chevy's 1100LV Kernel, btw. Thats been the best balance between stability and speed for me.
 
OP
tiggerxplur

tiggerxplur

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
650
Reaction score
1
Location
Phoenix AZ
i wasnt sure cause i watched the video comparison on the DX N1 and EVO snf the N1 was significantly faster than the moto droids even when OCed

That's definitely not what my quadrant scores are saying. 1376?
And on Linpack im getting a solid 17.1mflops.
Thats pretty damn fast imho.

I'm running BB 0.4, with Chevy's 1100LV Kernel, btw. Thats been the best balance between stability and speed for me.

nexus is getting 30 - 40 mflops on linpack

[video=youtube;ilx_cpGZczM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilx_cpGZczM&feature=player_embedded]YouTube - Droid X benchmark tests[/video]
 

Dave12308

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
3,252
Reaction score
50
I am convinced that Linpak is optimized for Qualcomm chipsets..... As a benchmark, Linpak is not all that useful anyways; it only tests the FPU (floating point unit) part of the CPU. Quadrant is alot more useful for showing real-world performance (well, as useful as any synthetic benchmark can be)
 
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
174
Reaction score
0
Location
Orange County, CA
nexus is getting 30 - 40 mflops on linpack

When maxed, yes. But the droid has been shown to be almost as capable. Don't forget, the nexus's default clock speed is almost twice as fast as the Driod's. In turn, it's "max" stable clock speed is quite a bit higher than a Droid's. The fastest I've seen a Droid OC'd to is about 1.3ghz, I've heard of experimental Nexus kernels running at 9ghz. Now, that's not necessarily stable, nor good for your phone, but still.

I am really not concerned with the maximum scores these devices achieve on either benchmark. More realistically, I want to see what the max I can get on a fully stable, and "daily driver" set up. All you'll get in trying to get the absolute max out of your device is a fried chip and probably some burn holes in your jeans.
 

dmacleo

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,479
Reaction score
0
Location
Etna,ME
That's definitely not what my quadrant scores are saying. 1376?
And on Linpack im getting a solid 17.1mflops.
Thats pretty damn fast imho.
Any idea what a stock 2.1 Droid does?
pure stock w/ no overclock usually 300 or so.
clocked at 1.3 I get 750 to 820 on a 2.1 based rom.
 
Last edited:

Dave12308

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
3,252
Reaction score
50
When maxed, yes. But the droid has been shown to be almost as capable. Don't forget, the nexus's default clock speed is almost twice as fast as the Driod's. In turn, it's "max" stable clock speed is quite a bit higher than a Droid's. The fastest I've seen a Droid OC'd to is about 1.3ghz, I've heard of experimental Nexus kernels running at 9ghz. Now, that's not necessarily stable, nor good for your phone, but still.

Please don't spread misinformation. The Nexus One's Snapdragon generally tops out ~1.3GHz. There is no way in hell it OCs to 9GHz, or even 1.9GHz.

Actually, there are no CPUs that will OC to 9GHz, mobile; PC; or otherwise.


EDIT: I see where you got that misinformation from, but it was a hoax, designed to be funny.

http://www.redmondpie.com/nexus-one-overclock-9ghz-9140478/

The N1 tops out at around around 1.267GHz to be exact.
 
Last edited:
OP
tiggerxplur

tiggerxplur

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
650
Reaction score
1
Location
Phoenix AZ
When maxed, yes. But the droid has been shown to be almost as capable. Don't forget, the nexus's default clock speed is almost twice as fast as the Driod's. In turn, it's "max" stable clock speed is quite a bit higher than a Droid's. The fastest I've seen a Droid OC'd to is about 1.3ghz, I've heard of experimental Nexus kernels running at 9ghz. Now, that's not necessarily stable, nor good for your phone, but still.

Please don't spread misinformation. The Nexus One's Snapdragon generally tops out ~1.3GHz. There is no way in hell it OCs to 9GHz, or even 1.9GHz.

Actually, there are no CPUs that will OC to 9GHz, mobile; PC; or otherwise.


EDIT: I see where you got that misinformation from, but it was a hoax, designed to be funny.

Overclock Nexus One to 9Ghz | Redmond Pie

The N1 tops out at around around 1.267GHz to be exact.

haha that link is funny and i that would be to good to be true to have that speed on a pc
 
Top