[VIDEO] HowTo UnRoot Incredible by downgrading

Status
Not open for further replies.

mejdam

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS METHOD.

IT IS OUTDATED AND WILL CAUSE PROBLEMS WITH YOUR PHONE.

PLEASE SEE HERE FOR THE CURRENT METHOD:
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-incredible-hacks/95406-how-correctly-unroot-incredible.html






[video=youtube;azwdpK400JA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azwdpK400JA]YouTube - HTC Droid Incredible Downgrade[/video]

This will remove Root and Custom Recovery (Clockwork) from your handset.


files:
MyHost Direct Download
Mirror #1
Mirror #2

Instructions:
1. Place PB31IMG.zip on root of SD Card
2. Reboot
3. Hold Down Vol Down into HBoot
4. It will ask if you want to update
5. Select Up to accept
6. Wait..........
7. it'll finish updating and ask to reboot
8. select vol + to choose yes
9. Done

IF YOU INSTALLED LEAKED OTA THEN USE THIS VIDEO TO DOWNGRADE

[video=youtube;eeuiURZZZds]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eeuiURZZZds[/video]

files: http://rapidshare.com/files/407698757/Droid_Incredible_Downgrade_From_Leaked_OTA.zip.htm l
 
Last edited by a moderator:

adrynalyne

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
2,896
Reaction score
6
You can always use the latest RUU and not need to downgrade.
 

StirCwazy

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I've got the latest RUU but can't get it to run. I keep getting Error 170, that it could not find my phone. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Also, quick question. I located two different RUUs, filenames below. Which should I be using?

RUU_IncredibleC_Verizon_WWE_1.22.605.0_Radio_1.00.03.04.06_release_161493_NoDriver
RUU_IncredibleC_Verizon_WWE_1.22.605.2_Radio_1.00.03.04.06_hboot_0.79_release_161494_NoDriver_0514

Thanks, any help is greatly appreciated.
 

feeble

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
I'm trying to downgrade to before the OTA update hoping that it might make it easier for me to get root on my Inc. I bought a new PNY 2GB card and copied the PB31IMG.zip file onto the SD card. When I Hboot my phone, it doesn't not recognize the file. I am able to open the file in 7-zip without problems. Re-downloading file produced the same results. The SD card is formatted FAT.

Any suggestions?

EDIT: I reformatted the card to FAT32 and it seems be working now.
 
Last edited:

tylar

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
FAT32 does the trick

Thanks for the info. It was driving me crazy. Now back to rooting again..
 

jarrough

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I was having the same issue, the hboot wouldn't recognize the zip file. I put in a blank SD card, formatted it to FAT32 instead of FAT, copied the zip file onto the card and went back thru the process and it is now working.

Thanks for the tip!!
 

beaubeau

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Total android newbie here (8 days into ownership) and trying to downgrade before the Froyo OTA update. Rooted with unrevoked3. Copied the PB31IMG.zip file onto the SD card. When I Hboot I get something like it's trying but it goes by too fast, ending with 'or wrong length'. Tried downloading from multiple sources with same results. SD card is formatted FAT32.

Phone runs okay, I just want to unroot in anticipation of Verizon's 2.2 rollout.

Suggestions for what to try next?
 

doug piston

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
1,204
Reaction score
4
I haven't seen that issue. Make sure you aren't changing the name to Pb31img.zip. Just name it PB31IMG. Otherwise you end up with a .zip.zip

With Android I have found it easier to have the pc show file extensions so I know what it really is.
 

beaubeau

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Thanks Doug. Here is some further data.

-When the phone is booting the message is "No image or wrong length".
-If I reboot normally, I get status messages:
Preparing phone storage
Preparing SD card
Blank SD card

I've attached a screen shot showing the phone attached to my machine and PB31IMG.zip being on the SD card (named HTC SD, during format as FAT32).

What would make the Incredible not see that file on the SD Card?
 

beaubeau

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
And yet more data, on the phone Astro file manager, when pointed to /sdcard shows (Directory is empty)
 

beaubeau

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
More data....
I formatted the SD card again (leaving the name blank this name, getting the default name of UNTITLED).
Then I went to terminal and did:
cd /Volumes/UNTITLED
echo hello > hello.txt
ls -l
And I see:
-rwxrwxrwx 1 chip chip 6 Aug 7 07:17 hello.txt

So hello.txt is on the card. (I've attached a screenshot too).

Same thing, phone starts and says 'Blank SD card'.
Astro file manager shows (Directory is empty).
And before that, Astro file manager pops up "error creating external cache".

So I reckon that somehow my SD card formatting is hosed and when I get that straight, I'll be able to put the PB31IMG.ZIP file on there and all will be well.

Wonder what I've done......
 

beaubeau

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Giving up for now, but here is what I have.....

I did get the SD card formatted as FAT32 using:

diskutil eraseVolume "MS-DOS FAT32" HTCSD /dev/disk4s2

I've attached a screen shot showing my sdcard (it's in the Incredible, USB connected to my computer). This shows the card is FAT32 and contains PB31IMG.zip and only PB31IMG.ZIP (not PB31IMG.zip.zip).

Should PB31IMG.zip be precisely 146,110,009 bytes?

Thanks very much for any ideas anyone might have.
 

doug piston

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
1,204
Reaction score
4
Also what rom are you on?? I think I remember there was a nightly that wouldn't mount the SD card correctly. I could be wrong on that though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top