Update on Froyo CPU Temps

Dustinmj

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Hope the title didn't get you too excited... it's still being worked on, but no kernel is correctly reporting CPU temp at the moment (at least none that I've tested).

TempMonitor itself will blaze right up just fine when the kernel support is there and show cpu temp as always. Some of P3Droid's kernels now have partial support, but the temperature doesn't update correctly (yet). It is actual CPU temp, not battery, but it locks up and fails to update when temp changes.

I've seen/heard of TM causing a reboot if used with a 2.2 kernel compiled with old mods. This is not TM, but the mods themselves causing the reboot. If you are a user, and you run into this, please install another kernel. If you are a dev, and run into this... well... everyone else has too... remove the mods and re-compile.

If anyone has any pertinent info that I'm not privy to, please let me know.

Side Note: Widgets are still coming... I've been slacking... had to move... swamped etc. Their still in the game plan, before anyone asks.
 

Mbk

Android For Life
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
4,152
Reaction score
4
Hope the title didn't get you too excited... it's still being worked on, but no kernel is correctly reporting CPU temp at the moment (at least none that I've tested).

TempMonitor itself will blaze right up just fine when the kernel support is there and show cpu temp as always. Some of P3Droid's kernels now have partial support, but the temperature doesn't update correctly (yet). It is actual CPU temp, not battery, but it locks up and fails to update when temp changes.

I've seen/heard of TM causing a reboot if used with a 2.2 kernel compiled with old mods. This is not TM, but the mods themselves causing the reboot. If you are a user, and you run into this, please install another kernel. If you are a dev, and run into this... well... everyone else has too... remove the mods and re-compile.

If anyone has any pertinent info that I'm not privy to, please let me know.

Side Note: Widgets are still coming... I've been slacking... had to move... swamped etc. Their still in the game plan, before anyone asks.

Sounds great Bro... will look forward to the Froyo widgets w/CPU Temp support on Temp Monitor...
 
OP
Dustinmj

Dustinmj

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
P3droid will be dropping new froyo kernels with functioning cpu temp tonight!

I'll be pushing Tempmonitor 3.0.0 on saturday... Including widgets.
 

cereal killer

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
11,254
Reaction score
1,276
Location
Austin, TX
Current Phone Model
Nokia Lumia Icon
Dustin cvpcs has some kernels out right now with working CPU temps. I would link you but I'm on my droid. Jump into their irc #cvpcs for a link to a ton of them. The 1300 is real buggy right now but the 1250 runs great.

Sent from my Droid
 
OP
Dustinmj

Dustinmj

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Dustin cvpcs has some kernels out right now with working CPU temps. I would link you but I'm on my droid. Jump into their irc #cvpcs for a link to a ton of them. The 1300 is real buggy right now but the 1250 runs great.

Sent from my Droid


I'm aware of the other driver floating around recently. This is the reason p3 and I are dropping this mod tonight rather than saturday.... It's pretty important to us that the proper driver be compiled with any kernel supporting cpu temp... the driver source itself is also being distributed.

That's all I can say without stepping on any toes.
 

cereal killer

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
11,254
Reaction score
1,276
Location
Austin, TX
Current Phone Model
Nokia Lumia Icon
No worries was just putting it out there that there are some already available if you were looking to try some new kernels with working CPU temps..

Enjoy : )

Sent from my Droid
 

joeybarclay

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
703
Reaction score
1
what does sv and iv mean in the kernels names that list is kinda confusing, do all of them have the cpu temp support?
 
Top