Ultimate Droid Froyo Beta is out (improvements from Alpha)

J. Dub

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Location
In yo intanetz!!!
I saw the opportunity to run the new beta released version of UD's rom for froyo and jumped on it. Below are my impressions.

Items that bother me:
-This, just like alpha, is not blocking ads in apps. Anyone else confirm?
-Also, when deleting native MMS you will not be able to send nor recieve MMS messages in handcent (or anyother app like it) Which makes me wonder why this is even an option?
Items I enjoy:
I've had this rom for over 72 hours now and I simply love it. Using an app Launcher as my home screen and no themes. This rom screams. I don't even have a custom kernel on it yet. So far no bugs other then what I posted in the 'bother me' section above.

Overall:
I am eager to see the production version of froyo that will be released to the masses. I believe that build w/ this custom rom will do wonders. By that point we'll see ad block being fully implemented (less google magically comes up w/ some sort of encrypted code-but in my opinion it will not be very resourceful when viewing it from a dollars -vs- form stand point)
The future looks o so bright for us android users. And I am eager to see it. :)
 
Last edited:

mjones1052

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
343
Reaction score
0
Location
Philly
Pretty sure this is just P3's Froyo port taken and put out with a UD stamp on it. Kinda makes me wonder if he learned anything at all from the whole UD 10 thing....
 

Im_Gumby

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Can't download from this site... am logged in as user, but no validation was ever sent. Tried resend validation, same nothing.

Any chance to get a link to a file share site?
 

huskur

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,866
Reaction score
36
Location
Lower Delaware
Pretty sure this is just P3's Froyo port taken and put out with a UD stamp on it. Kinda makes me wonder if he learned anything at all from the whole UD 10 thing....

It's the 2nd leaked version that everyone else is using from MDW
 
OP
J. Dub

J. Dub

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Location
In yo intanetz!!!
Pretty sure this is just P3's Froyo port taken and put out with a UD stamp on it. Kinda makes me wonder if he learned anything at all from the whole UD 10 thing....

It's the 2nd leaked version that everyone else is using from MDW
HUSKUR, in about phone what version does yours say? Mine says volesuserdbug FRFxx 33333... I thought the new build was suppose to be FRF57 38829

Also does this include the new froyo baseband frequency for the towers?
 
Last edited:
OP
J. Dub

J. Dub

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Location
In yo intanetz!!!
Also Husk, did you install update.zip over the alpha or did you clear data and cache then update.zip?
 

huskur

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,866
Reaction score
36
Location
Lower Delaware
Also Husk, did you install update.zip over the alpha or did you clear data and cache then update.zip?

Mine says volesuserdbug FRFxx 33333 also. No big deal. Working great!!! Insanely fast!!!

Yes, update.zip over alpha with a cache wipe and all is good
 
OP
J. Dub

J. Dub

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Location
In yo intanetz!!!
Also Husk, did you install update.zip over the alpha or did you clear data and cache then update.zip?

Mine says volesuserdbug FRFxx 33333 also. No big deal. Working great!!! Insanely fast!!!

Yes, update.zip over alpha with a cache wipe and all is good

Perfect thank you sir.
Oddly, my swype doesn't work anymore. I'll have to find an apk again. Other then that I'm loving this new build.

I got the latest antennae band installed as well. Seems it decreased my antennae signal w/ this new beta build from UD
 

DreamOperator

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
96
Reaction score
0
I went from the first froyo UD to this one, no wipe. Installed Blue Energy theme and P3's 1.2 that was mislabeled as 1.1. Set CPU working fine for me. Swype as well. Haven't tested much else yet.
 

hellfire

Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Is it just me or does SetCPU not work with this version?

I don't see a setCPU, how did you get there?

Did you download it from the market?

I went from the first froyo UD to this one, no wipe. Installed Blue Energy theme and P3's 1.2 that was mislabeled as 1.1. Set CPU working fine for me. Swype as well. Haven't tested much else yet.

I got it working, cleared the cache and rebooted. Fixed. Also, Swype is working for me as well. I haven't noticed anything else not working.
 

mr2man07

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
44
Reaction score
0
Location
Des Moines
Any reason when I install Nextheme as an update that when it reboots my 3g and wifi radios will not work? It seems to disable the radios and also loses root.

Btw, this was installed on top of the regular 2.2 release, not your beta.
 
OP
J. Dub

J. Dub

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Location
In yo intanetz!!!
Got swype working. And downloaded the app you mentioned thanks.


To the guy that lost his 3g, ect... Try that theme on this OS not the regular 2.2 froyo
 
Top