trying to root my droid

SECRT AG3NT MAN

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
alright...so im tryin to root my phone with 2.1 ESE81update.zip changed it to update.zip and when i go to my phone and install /sdcard/update.zip it always gets aborded??any advice?i have already dont the sprecovry stuff
 

ecsnead69

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
May 6, 2010
Messages
1,316
Reaction score
1
Location
Virginia
make sure the file is update.zip and not update.zip.zip... sometimes windows will hide extensions and then you will add an extra .zip???
 
OP
S

SECRT AG3NT MAN

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
make sure the file is update.zip and not update.zip.zip... sometimes windows will hide extensions and then you will add an extra .zip???

ya i made sure its jus update.zip nothing else no space mnothin and its int he root of my sd card so when i mount its there not in a folder
 

ecsnead69

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
May 6, 2010
Messages
1,316
Reaction score
1
Location
Virginia
did you hit "allow install from sd" first?
 
OP
S

SECRT AG3NT MAN

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
theres only allow update.zip installation i click that than the other one
 
OP
S

SECRT AG3NT MAN

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
thts what im going off of lol.i click install iget this message.
--install from sdcard...
finding update...
opening update...
verifying update...
E:cant open /sdcard/update.zip
(no such file or directory)
installation aboded
 

jlaidlaw

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
301
Reaction score
0
Location
California
thts what im going off of lol.i click install iget this message.
--install from sdcard...
finding update...
opening update...
verifying update...
E:cant open /sdcard/update.zip
(no such file or directory)
installation aboded

That means the file isn't in your root.. double check the file and also make sure you can open it. But, its saying "no such file or directory" so I would put a new update.zip file in there and try again.
 

reebz

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
197
Reaction score
1
Location
Fresno, CA.
Whenever I update ROMs or themes or kernels, I just rename the file to update, not update.zip and it installs every time.
 

JCo352

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
1,825
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
Have you flashed SPRecovery, or are you using stock recovery.
 
Top