Transparent Status Bar and Shade for Rooted Droid!

Manigma77

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
I would backup the original first before doing this, that is why I have not tried this yet, If someone could please post the instructions for backing up the framework apk it would be greatly appreciated.


Can someone please post ORIGINAL framework-res.apk
 
Last edited:

Flowah

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
So, I get to step 8 and it says "operation not permitted" when I try to mount. I've followed the directions to the letter.

First I upgraded to 2.0.1
Then I rooted the phone
Then I tried to busybox.

Ideas?
 

Manigma77

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
This is mine, with some red highlights and a more transparent top and bottom bar. Thanx Teenfaces, couldn't have done it without you....

It's skinning Time!!!! :icon_ banana:
 

JoJoCal19

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
St Augustine, FL
I have modded the framework-res.apk and put a transparent status bar and window shade for myself and thought I would share.
the file is attached. rename it from framework-res.zip to framework-res.apk and copy it to your sdcard and use busybox to copy it to your droid.
su
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
cd sdcard
busybox cp -R framework-res.apk /system/framework
reboot

droid2.jpg


droid3.jpg


After you reboot you will need to sign back into google. Just click on the marketplace and sign back in. Please remember you can cause serious damage to the operating system of your droid if you do not know what you are doing! I am not responsible for your actions. :) If you do not have busybox on your rooted droid yet, go here... AllDroid.org - View topic - BUSYBOX ON ROOTED ANDROID 2.0.1

Nice work on the transparent shade. Question though, are you running Sense UI on your Droid? If so can you direct me to the appropriate place to get/do this?
 

kobebeanbrynt

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I'm not the most advanced person to technology past my xbox so I need help... I havebthe new software for my motorola droid which is 2.0.1. All I want is to change the notification bar on my droid.. and I need help.. with the new software am I rooted, I need these questions asked... I just want the transparent bar for my droid asap without damaging my phone .. someone please help
 

Jordie

Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
78
Reaction score
0
This is mine, with some red highlights and a more transparent top and bottom bar. Thanx Teenfaces, couldn't have done it without you....

It's skinning Time!!!! :icon_ banana:

What app is that on the bottom of your screen the 6 icons, phone, voice, and etc..?
 

ironosity

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
0
This is mine, with some red highlights and a more transparent top and bottom bar. Thanx Teenfaces, couldn't have done it without you....

It's skinning Time!!!! :icon_ banana:

What app is that on the bottom of your screen the 6 icons, phone, voice, and etc..?

That would be Home++. Free home replacement screen. I"m torn between whether I like this or Open Home better. This seems to FC on me more then Open home...But I like the more convenient button on the bottom.
 

blackngray70

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
376
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
I'm not the most advanced person to technology past my xbox so I need help... I havebthe new software for my motorola droid which is 2.0.1. All I want is to change the notification bar on my droid.. and I need help.. with the new software am I rooted, I need these questions asked... I just want the transparent bar for my droid asap without damaging my phone .. someone please help

I've noticed this site isn't much for helping newbies out. Not a single question I've asked has ever been answered.

Good luck:)
 
Last edited:

gardobus

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
0
Location
Arizona
GDE has two buttons on the bottom and doesn't FC often for me. I'm torn between it and Home++
 

Manigma77

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
I'm not the most advanced person to technology past my xbox so I need help... I havebthe new software for my motorola droid which is 2.0.1. All I want is to change the notification bar on my droid.. and I need help.. with the new software am I rooted, I need these questions asked... I just want the transparent bar for my droid asap without damaging my phone .. someone please help

First, you need to root you phone, Info can b found here AllDroid.org - View topic - How to Root your Droid<<<ONLY .
Then you need to install BusyBox, Info can b found here AllDroid.org - View topic - BUSYBOX ON ROOTED ANDROID 2.0.1 .
Then Follow directions on the first page here.
This is no simple task for a newbie and things can get messed up real fast, so take the time to read the forums listed above and learn as much as you can. Also, please post any questions you have in their respective forums. Hope this helps,
*note You probably aren't getting your questions answered cause your asking them in the wrong place, and I'm sure any question you have, has allready been answered somewhere, so please take the time to find it.
 

Flowah

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
I'm not the most advanced person to technology past my xbox so I need help... I havebthe new software for my motorola droid which is 2.0.1. All I want is to change the notification bar on my droid.. and I need help.. with the new software am I rooted, I need these questions asked... I just want the transparent bar for my droid asap without damaging my phone .. someone please help

First, you need to root you phone, Info can b found here AllDroid.org - View topic - How to Root your Droid<<<ONLY .
Then you need to install BusyBox, Info can b found here AllDroid.org - View topic - BUSYBOX ON ROOTED ANDROID 2.0.1 .
Then Follow directions on the first page here.
This is no simple task for a newbie and things can get messed up real fast, so take the time to read the forums listed above and learn as much as you can. Also, please post any questions you have in their respective forums. Hope this helps,
*note You probably aren't getting your questions answered cause your asking them in the wrong place, and I'm sure any question you have, has allready been answered somewhere, so please take the time to find it.
Okay, I've followed those directions to the letter and I still get stuck on #8 of busy box installation.
 
Top