text tone for individual contact?

issues636

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
263
Reaction score
0
Location
Palm Coast, Floridaaa
i've figured out how to set a custom ringtone for a contact, but when they text it still has my default text tone. i get ESPN alerts and i have the ESPN ringtone, and i like having that set so i know when it's an actual text or a sports alert. i used to do it on my storm. is it possible with the droid?
 

MOTODROID123

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
YES!, people say u cant but i have the app "sms popup" and it allows you to set different text tones for different people like 1 song for your girl and then you would her another for your bestfriend. and you still have your default ringer
 

Martin030908

Super Moderator
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
8,699
Reaction score
0
Handcent SMS will also allow you to set individual notifications for texts.
 

amyk

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Albany, NY
Handcent SMS will also allow you to set individual notifications for texts.

I have Handcent, but every time I try to change the tone for texts, it doesn't show my ringdroided ringtones, only the ones handcent offers, I believe....anyone actually done the different tones for different contacts??
 

Martin030908

Super Moderator
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
8,699
Reaction score
0
Handcent SMS will also allow you to set individual notifications for texts.

I have Handcent, but every time I try to change the tone for texts, it doesn't show my ringdroided ringtones, only the ones handcent offers, I believe....anyone actually done the different tones for different contacts??
Make sure on your SD card you have a folder named "notifications".
[Ringdroid works only for ringtones I believe... notifications are separate. Confusing and pointless I know. :)] edit: was corrected by alansupra94 in post below that it does work for both ringtones and notifications. Thanks!
Here's what you can do... go to your SD card, create a folder named "notifications" (all lower case) and then go to the folder where your Ringdroid files are saved, copy the one you want to use for Handcent and then paste it into the "notifications" folder. The song(s) should now show up in the list of available tones in Handcent.
 

alansupra94

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Location
Wayne,NJ
You can select in Ringdroid whether you want the selected music to be a notification or ringtone. I have multiple tones for multiple people right now using Handcent.
 

Martin030908

Super Moderator
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
8,699
Reaction score
0
You can select in Ringdroid whether you want the selected music to be a notification or ringtone. I have multiple tones for multiple people right now using Handcent.
Thanks. I was hoping someone who uses Ringdroid would see this thread. I don't use it so I'm not certain on it's capabilities :icon_eek:
 

BiGJaYDROID

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
I used Missed Call by Anno it is an awesome app... lets you set ring tones for individual callers, texts even different led notifications for diff people and or type of message alert...:gotmyvote:
 

amyk

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Location
Albany, NY
Handcent SMS will also allow you to set individual notifications for texts.

I have Handcent, but every time I try to change the tone for texts, it doesn't show my ringdroided ringtones, only the ones handcent offers, I believe....anyone actually done the different tones for different contacts??
Make sure on your SD card you have a folder named "notifications".
[Ringdroid works only for ringtones I believe... notifications are separate. Confusing and pointless I know. :)] edit: was corrected by alansupra94 in post below that it does work for both ringtones and notifications. Thanks!
Here's what you can do... go to your SD card, create a folder named "notifications" (all lower case) and then go to the folder where your Ringdroid files are saved, copy the one you want to use for Handcent and then paste it into the "notifications" folder. The song(s) should now show up in the list of available tones in Handcent.
.
tried your method and actually found that if you mount it, open up to view files>click on media folder>notifications>audio, then copy and paste your ringtones from the folder right next to it---voila!!!
 

LilJayV10

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Sweet find. I am going to have to try this. Does ChompSMS have this too?
 
Top