Terminal Emulator

tony1208

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
290
Reaction score
0
just rooted my droid and I was wondering if Terminal Emulator is the only way to put in all these codes that are posted on here for getting rid of the verizon crap....the issues is it keeps force closing on me :( ...
 

Topsy

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
677
Reaction score
0
Location
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
one that works? Better terminal emulator rocks, and has a free version.
I use the paid Pro version for no ads, but the free one is great too.
 

evilsock

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
616
Reaction score
0
Location
knox county TN

JhankG

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
3,073
Reaction score
0
Location
Summerfield, NC
one that works? Better terminal emulator rocks, and has a free version.
I use the paid Pro version for no ads, but the free one is great too.

he's right, better terminal emulaor pro is the jam, also if u dont want to type on tiny keyboard you could get adb shell up and running and do it via your pc, i recomend that unless your 4 feet tall lol

this is what i used and it works

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/10924-how-adb-windows-made-easy.html

Using adb is definitely so much easier because you can copy and paste commands that you use a lot and you are using a real keyboard.
 

alm0614

Active Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
1,238
Reaction score
5
I downloaded terminal emulator from the market, I am running 2.2, and it just force closes every time I open it.. any ideas
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,492
Reaction score
6,918
had same problem either get android terminal emulator or j android hacker
 

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
4,947
Reaction score
17
Location
Baton Rouge, LA
I use Better Terminal Emulator Pro. It has worked great with every Rom including all the Froyo ones I've used.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 

ShadowUlcer

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Terminal Emulator, do I need it? If I do, why? I've seen in mentioned around here before, but the mentions were vague for someone like me who doesn't know what it's used for.

Thanks
 

Stelv

Silver Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,656
Reaction score
8
Location
Western NY
It is for running customs command style scripts. It is for root users. Each custom Rom has a set of custom scripts that will do certain things (block ads, install new looking dialer, clear cache, etc.). You do not need it if you are not rooted. It is similar to terminal on a mac computer.
 

ShadowUlcer

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
It is for running customs command style scripts. It is for root users. Each custom Rom has a set of custom scripts that will do certain things (block ads, install new looking dialer, clear cache, etc.). You do not need it if you are not rooted. It is similar to terminal on a mac computer.

I am rooted...

What are these custom scripts you speak of? *coughIthoughtthosewerekernels?cough*
 

Jim 777

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
2,306
Reaction score
37
I look at TE like the command prompt on your computer. It's a no-gui way to input linux(?) commands in to your phone. If you're not rooted you probably don't need it
 

ShadowUlcer

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
I look at TE like the command prompt on your computer. It's a no-gui way to input linux(?) commands in to your phone. If you're not rooted you probably don't need it

That's what I kind of figured, but as of now I don't really see any need for it. Unless you guys know some useful commands...
 
Top