SS4.8 and Wireless Tether

nstars4life

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I am looking for an app or the correct kernel for wireless tether. Currently have SS4.8 (love it so far) and 2.6.32-ulowV-1.0Ghz for the kernel. I have been playing around with the app called Wireless Tether for Root Users by Muller, Lemons, and Buxton and have had no luck with it at all with this rom and current kernel. The prerequisites are root and a Netfilter-enabled kernel
Any help, advise or directions to a better thread would be appreciated!
 

droidkevlar

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
448
Reaction score
0
For the OP, I use the Wireless Tether for Root Users 2.0.2 version that is listed above and it works 100% I have not tried the other version.
 
OP
N

nstars4life

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Am I using an applicable kernel for this? For some reason it just is not working and the only thing I can think of is the kernel. On another note while the app is running it just stays at 0.4kb (Green) down and 0.0kb (red) up. Is there anything else to look for?
 
OP
N

nstars4life

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I would like to add that my laptop does see the ssid but it will not connect to it. I verified i don't have access control checked.
 
OP
N

nstars4life

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Am I forgetting to enable something or change some system setting?
 

jeston

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Location
Las Cruces, NM
I remember when I was first trying it I couldn't get it to work for the life of me. Then I figured out I was being stupid and forgot I had static IP, etc settings setup on my laptop. Removed those settings and of course it worked perfectly :p

Anything like that setup on your system?
 
OP
N

nstars4life

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
nope the settings are on auto, i tried with mutiple computers (some with no av/firewalls), they all see the ssid but they don't connect.
 

mtz_gto

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
228
Reaction score
0
Location
Left Coast
nope the settings are on auto, i tried with mutiple computers (some with no av/firewalls), they all see the ssid but they don't connect.

Because you cant use your old Compaq with windows 95....
THROW IT AWAY ALREADY! JESUS!
 

rootedroid

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
anyone know how to make the wireless tether work as a hotspot instead of an ad-hoc connection? my work laptop won't allow me to change the setting allowing it to connect to an ad-hoc network. pdanet doesn't work either. both work fine on my home pc so I know the phone is working fine.
 

Phreaker47

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
753
Reaction score
20
nope the settings are on auto, i tried with mutiple computers (some with no av/firewalls), they all see the ssid but they don't connect.

Okay this is dumb and obvious, but I had this happen once, and finally realized my WiFi was disabled. Yes, with WiFi disabled, client PCs will still see the SSID! Big duhhhhh moment for me. Just thought I'd mention it.
 
Top